Simulating an EU Council summit with students

Compromise and declarations of intent

Masters students from all over Europe gathering in Brussels to simulate a European Union Council summit makes for quite an authentic atmosphere, owing to the mix of languages, the different temperaments and negotiation styles, the setting. Negotiations begin during the three-week online preparation phase via our platform Senaryon. When meeting face-to-face for the summit, participants must reach compromise on the most pressing issues. As in reality, both negotiation phases are closely linked.

The students negotiate on some of the bigger issues such as the future of the European Union, alternative ways out of the „poly-crisis“, new integration measures or a „social Europe“. As part of the online Masters for European Studies at the Centre International de Formation Européenne (Cife), the simulated summit usually takes place shortly after the real June summit of heads of state and governments. Meanwhile, for the political-scientists-in-the-making at Leuphana University in Lüneburg, the simulation game constitutes the climax to an entire seminar on EU social policy.

In both cases, the students spend the online phase getting up to speed with the different delegations and their positions. They also hold early consultations and forge coalitions; all while developing proposals for the final document. Based on those proposals, the Council Presidency creates a single draft for the critical stage of negotiations during the summit.

Both in Brussels and in Lüneburg, in-house it’s then all about negotiating the summit’s final declaration and finalise its wording.  Just like in real negotiations, the agreement tends to represent the lowest common denominator, with concrete demands a rare occurrence, and instead containing plenty of statements of intent. In any case, regarding behaviour during the negotiations and the struggling for compromise, the students are already displaying high levels of professionalism.

 

 

 

Facts + Figures

Target group

Masters students of European Studies at Cife

Objectives
  • How the European Council works
  • How does politics actually work?
Client(s)

Cife – Centre International de Formation Européene

Leuphana University Lüneburg

Duration

2 days, plus 4 weeks of online preparation

Number of participants

30

Location(s)

Brussels, plus online preparation

Language(s)

English

Competencies

Testimonials

  • We have been working with Planpolitik since 2012. They organise a simulation of the EU summit for our participants in Brussels once a year and I am always astonished about how our international participants take on their roles as European presidents or ministers, debate and fight intensively for their positions.
    I am looking forward to having the next simulation in July 2015.

    Camille Raffin, Project manager, Centre international de formation européenne CIFE

  • The prospect of a 14-day simulation game as the seminar climax created a powerful incentive for students to actively engage with the event’s topics. The online phase allowed for a level of identification with the role as well as a depth of content rarely achieved in „regular“ simulation games. The on-site event reached considerably higher levels of quality regarding content and discursive intensity. It undoubtedly marked the peak of the event.

    Apl. Prof. Dr. Dawid Friedrich, Professor of International Relations, Leuphana University Lüneburg

Simulation eines EU-Ratsgipfels mit Studierenden

Absichtserklärungen und Kompromisse

Wenn Master-Studierende aus ganz Europa in Brüssel einen Ratsgipfel der Europäischen Union (EU) simulieren, dann hat das etwas durchaus Authentisches: das Sprachengewirr, die unterschiedlichen Temperamente und Verhandlungsstile, das Setting. Die Verhandlungen beginnen bereits während der dreiwöchigen Online-Vorbereitungsphase auf unserer Plattform Senaryon. Beim Gipfel selbst geht es von Angesicht zu Angesicht dann darum, einen tragenden Kompromiss zu den drängendsten Fragen zu finden. Wie in der Realität sind beide Verhandlungsphasen eng miteinander verknüpft.

Die Studierenden verhandeln z.B. die großen Fragen zur Zukunft der Europäischen Union, alternative Wege aus der „Polykrise“ oder über neue Integrationsschritte hin zu einem „sozialen Europa“. Im Online-Masterstudiengang European Studies am Centre International de Formation Européenne (Cife) findet der Planspiel-Gipfel traditionell kurz nach dem realen Gipfel der Staats- und Regierungschefs im Juni statt. Für angehende Politikwissenschaftler/innen der Leuphana Universität Lüneburg ist das Planspiel Höhepunkt eines ganzen Seminars zur EU-Sozialpolitik.

In beiden Fällen arbeiten sich die Studierenden während der Online-Vorbereitungsphase in die Positionen ihrer jeweiligen Delegation ein, sie treffen erste Vorabsprachen und schmieden Koalitionen. Gleichzeitig erarbeiten sie Vorschläge für das Abschlussdokument. Basierend darauf erarbeitet dann die Ratspräsidentschaft aus allen Vorschlägen einen einzigen Entwurf für die „heiße Phase“ der Verhandlungen beim Gipfel.

Vor Ort in Brüssel und Lüneburg geht es schließlich darum, die Gipfel-Abschlusserklärung zu verhandeln und final zu formulieren.  Wie bei den realen Verhandlungen ist die Einigung am Ende des Tages meist der kleinste gemeinsame Nenner – selten mit konkreten Forderungen, dafür umso häufiger mit Absichtserklärungen. Was das Verhalten während der Verhandlungen als auch das zähe Ringen um Kompromisse angeht, sind die Studierenden jedenfalls schon hochprofessionell.

Fakten

Zielgruppe

Studierende, Young Professionals

Zielsetzung
  • Sozialpolitik der EU
  • EU-Integrationstheorien
  • Funktionsweise des Europäischen Rats
  • Multilaterales Verhandeln
  • Wie funktioniert eigentlich Politik?
Auftraggeber/in

Cife – Centre International de Formation Européene

Leuphana Universität Lüneburg

Dauer Veranstaltung

2 Tage, plus 2-4 Wochen Online-Vorbereitung

Anzahl der Teilnehmenden

30

Ort

Brüssel, Lüneburg plus Online-Vorbereitung

Sprache

Deutsch, Englisch

Kompetenzen

Stimmen

  • Wir arbeiten seit 2012 erfolgreich mit planpolitik zusammen. Im Rahmen des Online-Masterprogramms European Studies führt planpolitik einmal im Jahr in Brüssel eine Simulation eines EU-Ratsgipfels durch, und ich bin immer wieder überrascht wie selbstverständlich unsere internationalen Studierenden in die Rollen von Europäischen Staatschefs oder Ministern schlüpfen und sich intensiv für ihre jeweiligen Interessen einsetzen.

    Camille Raffin, Project manager, Centre international de formation européenne CIFE

  • Die Aussicht auf 14 Tage Planspiel als Zielpunkt des Seminars bot meinen Studierenden einen hohen Anreiz für die aktive Aneignung der Themen der Veranstaltung. Die Online-Phase ermöglichte einen Grad an Identifikation mit der Rolle sowie eine inhaltliche Tiefe, die "normale" Planspiele nur schwer erreichen können. Die Vor-Ort-Veranstaltung gewann enorm an inhaltlicher Qualität und diskursiver Intensität und war unbestritten der Höhepunkt der Veranstaltung.

    Apl. Prof. Dr. Dawid Friedrich, Professor für Internationale Beziehungen, Leuphana Universität Lüneburg