Our first article on the simulation game as a method

It’s the learning objectives, stupid!

It’s the learning objectives that matter – that is the principal message of our first article on the simulation game as a method, published in 2011. In it, we examine the contribution made by simulation games in teaching peace and conflict research. The article appeared as an anniversary publication by the internationally renowned Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies at Philipps-Universität Marburg.

In a nutshell: there are many learning objectives that can be reached with a simulation game. Therefore, when choosing a simulation game one must determine key objectives so that the game concept remains clear and isn’t overloaded. Our objectives matrix is based on the central distinction between conveying knowledge and conveying skills; it also identifies further sub-objectives. In order to avoid a mismatch between choice of game and participants’ expectations and level of knowledge, defining the learning objectives first is crucial. Only then can an adequate simulation game be developed or chosen.

The paper introduces four different simulation game types from the area of peace and conflict studies and describes their learning objectives, which differ considerably. Despite the fact that simulation games are of great significance for peace and conflict studies, we had to conclude that they are currently not being used to their full potential.

 

Facts + Figures

Target group

Experts of peace and conflict studies, lecturers, specialists

Client(s)

Philipps-Universität Marburg

Language(s)

German

Competencies

Testimonials

  • First of all, many many thanks for the amazing paper – it is a comprehensive and exciting read. The images are great, too – they'll make it look extra sexy...

    Julia Viebach, Wiss. Research assistant MA at center for conflict studies (CCS), Philipps-Universität Marburg

Unser erster Artikel über die Methode Planspiel

Auf die Lernziele kommt es an!

Auf die Lernziele kommt es an – dies ist die Kernaussage unseres ersten, im Jahre 2011 veröffentlichten Artikels zur Methode Planspiel. Dabei gehen wir der Frage nach, welchen Beitrag Planspiele für die Lehre in der Friedens- und Konfliktforschung spielen können – verfasst als Jubiläumsausgabe der Schriftenreihe des international angesehenen Zentrums für Friedens- und Konfliktforschung an der Philipps-Universität Marburg.

Kurz gesagt: Es gibt viele Lernziele, die mit Planspielen erfüllt werden können. Entsprechend kommt es bei der Auswahl des Planspiels darauf an, Schwerpunkte zu setzen, damit das Spielkonzept klar ist und nicht überfrachtet wird. Dabei basiert unsere Lernziel-Matrix auf der zentralen Unterscheidung zwischen der Wissens- und der Kompetenzvermittlung und identifiziert darüber hinaus noch weitere Unterziele. Zur Vermeidung einer Diskrepanz zwischen der Wahl des Planspiels und den Erwartungen bzw. dem Niveau der Teilnehmenden ist es von zentraler Bedeutung, sich im Vorfeld über die Lernziele klar zu werden. Nur so kann ein daran angepasstes Planspiel entwickelt bzw. ausgewählt werden.

Das Paper stellt vier unterschiedliche Planspieltypen aus dem Bereich der Friedens- und Konfliktforschung (FuK) vor und beschreibt ihre z.T. sehr unterschiedlichen Lernziele. Obwohl Planspiele durchaus eine hohe Relevanz in der FuK haben, muss abschließend festgestellt werden, dass sie derzeit noch zu einseitig eingesetzt werden.

Fakten

Zielgruppe

Experten der Friedens- und Konfliktforschung, Dozent/innen, Fachpublikum

Auftraggeber/in

Philipps-Universität Marburg

Sprache

Deutsch

Kompetenzen

Stimmen

  • Lieber Simon, lieber Björn,
    zunächst, vielen vielen Dank für das tolle Paper, das nun in dieser Version wirklich rund und spannend zu lesen ist. Auch die Abbildungen sind super gelungen und werden das Paper nochmal so richtig aufpeppen.

    Julia Viebach, Wiss. MA am Zentrum für Konfliktforschung /center for conflict studies (CCS), Philipps-Universität Marburg