Development of a trilingual game set on the topics of justice and participation

European Project “EDC for all!”

Towards the end of 2013 we became part of a Europe-wide, EU-funded project for the first time ever. This project itself was part of the EU’s Lifelong Learning Project. The title of our project: „EDC for All – Qualifying and Mainstreaming Education for Democratic Citizenship (EDC) within Europe“. It was concluded in December 2015, when we delivered a trilingual game set dealing with the topics of justice and participation.

Our main task within this project was to develop two innovative games that were then to be used in democracy and human rights work across Europe and even worldwide.

We managed to complete the task, by producing a rather elegant game set containing two games and all materials necessary for facilitation: firstly, the card game S*INTRO, with a focus on social and societal participation and exclusion. Secondly, a dice game called ja!do, on the topics of justice and fairness in society.

The game set is available in German, English and Portuguese, since the project coordinating NGO Dínamo Associação is based in Sintra, Portugal. Other partners were the European Council, the European human rights network DARE as well as the Aga Khan Development Network. You can order the game set directly from us (shipping costs only!) or download the materials from our website.

The journey from the first brainstorming workshop with experts in July 2014 through numerous test runs throughout 2015 to completion of the set in December 2015 was a very exciting process, during which we learnt a lot. Particularly in the final months of the project, planpolitik was faced with previously unknown challenges such as managing the production of 150 game sets, a task that involved ourselves ordering and packaging 90 000 game pieces.
Cooperation with our partners was extremely productive and rewarding, and we’ll be remembering the three project meetings held in Portugal as particular highlights of the last couple of years. And we are confident that this was not the last project working with these partners.

If you would like to find out more about the project – e.g. about the translation into German of the “Charter for Education for Democratic Citizenship and Human Rights Education” as well as a manual on the use of the Charter, both as part of the project – we would like to direct you to the project website www.edcforall.eu.

 

Facts + Figures

Target group

Multipliers and trainers all over Europe, working in education for democratic citizenship and human rights education

Objectives
  • Developing materials for the education for democratic citizenship and human rights education
Client(s)

European Commission

Project partner
Dínamo – Associação
Council of Europe
Human rights network DARE
Aga Khan Development Network
Objectives

Developing games for education for democratic citizenship and human rights education
Translating accompanying documents into German

Project lifetime

2 years

Duration

2 years

Number of participants

7-10

Location(s)

Sintra/Portugal, as well as Berlin

Language(s)

English

Competencies

Entwicklung einer dreisprachigen Spielebox zu den Themen Gerechtigkeit und Partizipation

EDC for all!

Ende 2013 wurden wir zum ersten Mal Partner eines EU-geförderten europaweiten Projekts, im Rahmen des Lifelong Learning Programmes! Der Titel des Projekts lautet: „EDC for All – Qualifying and Mainstreaming Education for Democratic Citizenship (EDC) within Europe“. Das Projekt ist im Dezember 2015 abgeschlossen worden – pünktlich zum Abschluss haben wir eine dreisprachige Spielebox zu den Themen Gerechtigkeit und Partizipation fertiggestellt!

Unsere Hauptaufgabe im Rahmen des Projekts bestand darin, zwei innovative Spiele zu entwickeln, die dann Europa- bzw. weltweit in der Demokratie- und Menschenrechtsarbeit eingesetzt werden sollen.

Das haben wir geschafft! Und eine wie wir finden sehr gelungene Spielebox produziert, die zwei Spiele mitsamt aller Materialien zur Anleitung enthält: Erstens das Kartenspiel S*iNTRO mit einem Fokus auf die Themen soziale und gesellschaftliche Teilhabe bzw. Ausgrenzung. Zweitens das Würfelspiel ja!do zu den Themen Gerechtigkeit und Fairness in unserer Gesellschaft.

Die Spielebox existiert nun auf Deutsch, Englisch und Portugiesisch, da die NGO Dínamo Associação aus Sintra/Portugal die Projektkoordination inne hatte. Weitere Partner waren der Europarat, das europäische Menschenrechtsnetzwerk DARE sowie das Aga Khan Development Network. Sie können die Box bei uns direkt bestellen (nur Versandkosten!) oder die Materialien von unserer Homepage herunterladen.

Der Weg vom ersten Experten-Workshop zur Ideenfindung der Spiele im Juli 2014 über die zahlreichen Testläufe der Spiele im Laufe des Jahres 2015 bis zur Fertigstellung der Box im Dezember 2015 war für uns ein sehr spannender Prozess, in dem wir vieles gelernt haben – gerade in den letzten Monaten des Projekts musste sich planpolitik mal wieder auf einem neuen Feld beweisen und die Produktion von 150 Spielboxen über die Bühne bringen. Dafür wurden unter anderem 90.000 Spielsteine geordert und von uns verpackt.

Die Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Partnern war ausgesprochen produktiv und bereichernd und die insgesamt drei Projekttreffen in Portugal jeweils besondere Highlights der letzten Jahre. Und wir sind zuversichtlich, dass dies nicht das letzte Projekt mit diesen Partnern gewesen sein wird.

Falls Sie noch mehr über das Projekt erfahren möchten – u.a. wurde im Rahmen des Projekts auch die „Charta für Alle. Charta des Europarats zur politischen Bildung und Menschenrechtsbildung“ sowie die Übersetzung eines Handbuchs zur Nutzung der Charta ins Deutsche übersetzt – laden wir Sie ein, die Website des Projekts unter www.edcforall.eu zu besuchen.

Fakten

Zielgruppe

Multiplikatoren/innen und Trainer/innen der Demokratie- und Menschenrechtsbildungsarbeit in ganz Europa

Zielsetzung
  • Entwicklung von Materialien für die europaweite Demokratie- und Menschenrechtsbildungsarbeit
Auftraggeber/in

Europäische Kommission

Projektpartner/innen
Dínamo – Associação
Europarat
Menschenrechtsnetzwerk DARE
Aga Khan Development Network
Projektauftrag/anforderungen

Entwicklung von Spielen zu Demokratie- und Menschenrechtsbildung
Übersetzung von Begleitdokumenten ins Deutsche

Projektlaufzeit

2 Jahre

Dauer Veranstaltung

2 Jahre

Anzahl der Teilnehmenden

7-10

Ort

Sintra/Portugal sowie Berlin

Sprache

Englisch

Kompetenzen