Simulating a European Council summit on Croatia's accession to the EU

Euphoria for Europe – Croatia makes it happen

Enthusiastic Europeans can be found in large numbers in Croatia, at least, that is the impression we got in July 2013 when Croatia’s accession to the EU was celebrated in Zagreb. We were right in the middle of it, thanks to a simulation game on the future of Europe, organised by the Croatian branch of Klub Alpbach.

35 “hand-picked” and highly motivated Croatians took part in this two-day simulation game – and we have rarely experienced a better event on the future of Europe. Negotiations were rather realistically taking place between the group of states leaning towards Euro-scepticism, lead by the delegation of Great Britain, and those states more in favour of integration. The participants lead very intense, sophisticated and therefore sometimes rather difficult negotiations, with the informal part being conducted almost entirely in Croatian. As is often the case in simulation games, the result was close to reality: almost no concrete steps were decided on. Instead, declarations of intent dominated. As part of the celebrations around Croatia’s accession to the EU, the delegation that had been strongest in negotiations was presented with an award – it happened to be the German delegation.

Apart from experiencing a great simulation game, it was a very special moment for us to witness the accession live and to meet so many enthusiastic Europeans – a breath of fresh air, given the rather muted and sceptical attitude in the old member states.

Facts + Figures

Target group

Students from all over Croatia

Objectives
  • Understanding key points of the European integration debate
  • Understanding the dynamics of multilateral negotiations and the difficulties of decisions requiring consensus
Client(s)

Klub Alpbach Hrvatska

Duration

2 days

Number of participants

35

Location(s)

Zagreb/Croatia

Language(s)

English, Croatian

Competencies

Testimonials

  • It was a pleasure to work with you. You gave the simulatiuon its substance and guided the participants more then well.

    Ivor Šutalo, participant

  • According to the ranking provided by the participants, the simulation game organised and facilitated by planpolitik was the most successful event of the conference “Europe Joins Croatia”. For the first time, the participants had the opportunity to really experience the challenging and fascinating work of the European Council. Planpolitik kept the game on a sophisticated level and always ensured that the participants were at the centre of events, allowing them to become fully immersed in their roles.

    Boris Blazevic, Klub Alpbach Hrvatska

In the media

  • Video (in Croatian) of TV student FPZG  – you can learn about our simulation game from minute 13 onwards.

Simulation eines Europäischen Ratsgipfels zum EU-Beitritt Kroatiens

Euphorie für Europa – Kroatien macht‘s möglich

  • © Klub Alpbach Hrvatska
  • © Klub Alpbach Hrvatska
  • © Klub Alpbach Hrvatska

Begeisterte Europäerinnen und Europäer sind in Kroatien zahlreich zu finden – zumindest haben wir das im Juli 2013 so wahrgenommen, als in Zagreb der Beitritt Kroatiens zur EU gefeiert wurde. Wir waren mittendrin, dank eines vom kroatischen Zweig des Klub Alpbach organisierten Planspiels zur Zukunft Europas.

35 handverlesene, hochmotivierte junge Kroatinnen und Kroaten nahmen an diesem zweitägigen Planspiel teil – und selten haben wir eine bessere Veranstaltung zur Frage der Zukunft der EU erlebt. Die Verhandlungen verliefen sehr realistisch zwischen der Fraktion der eher euroskeptischen Staaten, angeführt von der Delegation Großbritanniens, und den in der Tendenz proeuropäischen und integrationswilligen Staaten. Die Teilnehmenden führten sehr intensive, anspruchsvolle und vielleicht gerade deshalb teilweise sehr schwierige Verhandlungen, wobei der informelle Teil fast nur auf Kroatisch ablief. Das Ergebnis lag – wie so oft bei Planspielen – sehr nah an der Realität: Konkrete Schritte wurden praktisch nicht beschlossen. Stattdessen standen Absichtserklärungen im Vordergrund. Am Ende wurde die verhandlungsstärkste Delegation im Rahmen der Festlichkeiten zum kroatischen EU-Beitritt ausgezeichnet – der Zufall wollte es, dass die deutsche Delegation auserkoren wurde.

Neben dem tollen Planspiel war es für uns ein besonderer Moment, einen EU-Beitritt live mitzuerleben und zugleich so viele enthusiastische Europäer/innen zu treffen – das tat bei aller Europaskepsis in den alten Mitgliedsstaaten gut.

Fakten

Zielgruppe

Studierende aus ganz Kroatien

Zielsetzung
  • Knackpunkte der Integrationsdebatte in der EU verstehen
  • Dynamik multilateraler Verhandlungen und Schwierigkeiten von Konsens-Beschlüssen begreifen
Auftraggeber/in

Klub Alpbach Hrvatska

Dauer Veranstaltung

2 Tage

Anzahl der Teilnehmenden

35

Ort

Zagreb

Sprache

Englisch, Kroatisch

Kompetenzen

Stimmen

  • Es war eine Freude, mit euch zu arbeiten. Ihr ward das Herzstück des Planspiels und habt die Teilnehmer herausragend angeleitet.

    Ivor Šutalo, Teilnehmer Planspiel

  • Das von Planpolitik organisierte und geführte Rollenspiel war nach den Noten der Teilnehmer das erfolgreichste Teilevent der Konferenz Europe Joins Croatia. Die Teilnehmer hatten zum ersten Mal die Gelegenheit gehabt, die Herausfordernde und zudem spannende Arbeit des Europäischen Rates an ihrem eigenen Leib zu spüren. Planpolitik hat das Planspiel auf einem hohen Niveau geführt und stets die Teilnehmer im Mittelpunkt des Geschehens gehabt, wodurch sich die Teilnehmer voll entfalten konnten.

    Boris Blazevic, Klub Alpbach Hrvatska

In den Medien

  • Video (auf Kroatisch) von TV Student FPZG zur gesamten Veranstaltung  – unser Planspiel ist ab Minute 13 zu sehen.