EU simulation games for our youngest target group so far

Europe at primary schools

“Can you imagine developing an EU simulation game for primary school kids?” Our initial reaction – thinking to ourselves: no, we can’t. Luckily, we reconsidered, because we found that yes, it actually works very well! The results are part of the “EU box for primary schools” for teachers in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern since 2013, and now you can download them or order a proper game set on the website of the EU funded project PEP (Simulation games for action-oriented teaching about the EU in primary education).

In the course of the PEP project context the game materials were revised fundamentally, 15 test runs were facilitated, and the learning success of students was evaluated in a research study. The results of the study show an increase of political knowledge on the EU and a increased political motivation. More than 90 percent of the kids stated that they learnt “how the EU works” and that they understood that compromises and discussions are important parts of the politics. The fact that the kids had a great time playing the games turned this project into a really pleasant experience.

In this simulation game itself, school kids of nine take on the role of a European country. They negotiate about an EU-wide regulation for healthier food, more environmentally friendly cars or better animal protection standards. Illustrated role profiles with only very little text indicate each country’s position.

The game facilitators take over the role of the European Commission, making suggestions to the countries such as: “The new regulation should apply in 2020.” The pupils position themselves in the room according to their position: Do they want the regulation to enter into force earlier or later?

Different points of view become clear and arguments can be exchanged. Those who are persuaded by arguments of others change their position in the room.

The objective of the game is not an exact replay of the EU but to give the children a sense of how and why politicians from different EU states negotiate and how compromise can be reached.

You can book the facilitation of one of the simulation games or multiplier trainings with us. Alternatively, you can download the game materials (in German) for free for your own use.

Facts + Figures

Target group

School children aged 8-10

Objectives
  • A first introduction to the EU
  • Giving a basic understanding of politics and political negotiations
  • Formation of problem solving skills via targeted search for compromise and solution strategies for political conflicts
Client(s)

Europpäisches Informationszentrum (EIZ) Niedersachsen

Project partner
Universität Göttingen
Objectives

Development, design and facilitation of simulation games

Project lifetime

September 2015 - August 2016

Duration

3-5 h

Number of participants

20-30

Location(s)

25 primary schools in Niedersachsen

Language(s)

German

Competencies

Testimonials

  • The simulation game proved to be an interesting and appropriate method for allowing primary school kids to experience democratic and political activity.

    Statement (2011)

  • I also really enjoyed seeing my class in a different light, as an outside observer. I get the feeling that the kids were genuinely interested and enthusiastic and would have loved to continue playing this game.

    Statement (2011)

  • Very well organised, good ideas, good and attractive materials and really friendly staff from planpolitik in Berlin. A real enrichment for class!!!!

    Statement (2011)

EU-Planspiele für unsere bisher jüngste Zielgruppe

Europa in der Grundschule

„Könnt ihr euch vorstellen, ein EU-Planspiel für Grundschülerinnen und Grundschüler zu entwickeln?“ Spontan dachten wir: Nein, das geht nicht. Gut, dass wir noch einmal darüber nachgedacht haben, denn es geht, sehr gut sogar! Das Ergebnis findet sich seit 2013 nicht nur im EU-Grundschulkoffer für Lehrkräfte in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern sondern kann nun auch auf der Seite des EU-geförderten Projekts PEP („Planspiele zur handlungsorientierten EU-Vermittlung in der Primarstufe“) kostenlos heruntergeladen oder als Spielebox bestellt werden.

Im Rahmen des PEP-Projekts wurden die Planspiele grundlegend überarbeitet, 15 Mal getestet und begleitend evaluiert. Die Evaluationsergebnisse weisen auf deutliche Zugewinne an politischem EU-Wissen und einer erhöhten politischen Motivation hin. Über 90 Prozent der befragten Schülerinnen und Schüler gaben an, durch das Planspiel gelernt zu haben, „wie die EU arbeitet“ und dass Kompromisse und Diskussionen in der Politik wichtig sind. Dass die Kids dabei auch noch Spaß hatten, macht das Projekt zu einer wirklich runden Sache.

Aber zu den Spielen: Darin übernehmen die Schülerinnen und Schüler der 3. Klasse die Rolle eines europäischen Landes. Sie verhandeln über eine EU-weite Regelung für gesündere Lebensmittel, für sparsamere Pkw oder für verbesserte Tierschutzstandards. Illustrierte Rollenprofile, die fast ohne Text auskommen, geben die Position des Landes vor.

Die Spielleitung übernimmt die Rolle der EU-Kommission. Sie unterbreitet den Ländern Vorschläge, wie z.B.: „Die neue Regelung soll ab 2020 gelten.“ Entsprechend ihres Rollenprofils positionieren sich die Schülerinnen und Schüler im Raum: Sind sie für ein früheres oder späteres Inkrafttreten? Auf diese Weise werden die unterschiedlichen Standpunkte deutlich und es können Argumente ausgetauscht werden. Wer sich überzeugen lässt, ändert seine Position im Raum.

Ziel des Planspiels ist es nicht, die Europäische Union exakt nachzuspielen, sondern den Kindern ein Gefühl zu vermitteln, wie und warum Politikerinnen und Politiker aus verschiedenen EU-Staaten miteinander verhandeln und wie Kompromisse gefunden werden können.

Sie können Planspieldurchführungen und Fortbildungen für Lehrkräfte und Multiplikator/innen zu Planspielen in der Primärstufe bei uns anfragen. Alternativ können Sie die Spielmaterialien kostenlos herunterladen.

 

Fakten

Zielgruppe

Schülerinnen und Schüler der 3. Klasse

Zielsetzung
  • Erste Einführung in die Europäische Union
  • Vermittlung eines Grundverständnisses für Politik und politische Verhandlungen
  • Aufbau von Problemlösungskompetenzen durch das gezielte Suchen nach Kompromissen und Lösungsstrategien für politische Konflikte
Auftraggeber/in

Europäisches Informationszentrum (EIZ) Niedersachsen

Projektpartner/innen
Universität Göttingen
Projektauftrag/anforderungen

Entwicklung, Erstellung und Durchführung der Planspiele

Projektlaufzeit

1. September 2015 bis 31. August 2016

Dauer Veranstaltung

3-5 h

Anzahl der Teilnehmenden

20-30

Ort

25 Grundschulen in Niedersachsen

Sprache

Deutsch

Kompetenzen

Stimmen

  • Das Planspiel erwies sich als interessante und geeignete Methode, demokratisches und politisches Handeln auch für Grundschulkinder erfahrbar zu machen.

    Beitrag aus anonymer Lehrer/innen-Evaluation 2011

  • Mir hat es auch sehr gefallen, die Klasse mal in einem anderen Licht und von außen zu sehen. Ich habe das Gefühl, es hat die Kinder wirklich interessiert und begeistert und sie hätten am liebsten weitergemacht.

    Beitrag aus anonymer Lehrer/innen-Evaluation 2011

  • Sehr gut organisiert, gute Ideen, gute und ansprechende Materialien und wirklich freundliche Mitarbeiterinnen von PlanPolitik aus Berlin. Eine Bereicherung für den Sachunterricht!!!!

    Beitrag aus anonymer Lehrer/innen-Evaluation 2011