The simulation game “The Fontanian question” at the German Economy Foundation

Curse or Blessing? – Oil resources as a source of conflict

Is it a curse or a blessing if an unstable state discovers it has oil resources that are large enough to remedy many economic difficulties? In two simulation games played in parallel, a total of 60 young people on a scholarship with the German Economy Foundation (swd) experience just how great the potential for conflict around oil can be.

Who benefits from resources and what are the consequences in relation to security policy that natural resources have for the dynamics of domestic conflicts? Actors in this simulation game range from private and state-owned oil companies to national and municipal governments as well as sub-state opposition and rebel groups.

The simulation game is perfectly suited as an introduction to a general discussion on worldwide energy resources and the conflicts their distribution might provoke. Using the example of the fictional state of Fontania, the conflicts around the oil are simulated. The participants can influence the situation through action. Depending on the interests of the role they play, they will either act to escalate the conflict or to contribute to a peaceful solution. The end result is – as always in simulation games – open.

During the evaluation, the fact that the central characteristics of the simulation game dynamic are distrust, incomplete information on how the situation is developing as well as structural disadvantages of the moderate forces (money, arms etc.)

We have played “The Fontanian Question” more than 20 times and in various countries, and rarely has it ended in a peaceful solution to the conflict. Unfortunately, the many conflicts that currently remain unsolved show just how close to reality the game is. Being able to better understand the breaking out of violent conflicts in the fight for vital resources is one of the most important learning objectives of this action-oriented simulation game.

Facts + Figures

Target group

Scholars with the German Economy Foundation

Objectives
  • Understanding the dynamics of conflict
  • Understanding the challenges of peaceful conflict resolution
Client(s)

Stiftung der Deutschen Wirtschaft e.V. (sdw)/German Economy Foundation

Duration

1 day

Number of participants

30

Location(s)

Gelsenkirchen

Language(s)

German

Competencies

Testimonials

  • planpolitik came to an academy on “Humans and Energy” and we played a one-day simulation game on energy conflicts for 60 scholarship fellows of the foundation. This academy has been offered four times in total, and planpolitik were part of every one of them. The simulation game was developed by planpolitik members especially for the event series and was improved and developed after every academy. Apart from being a lot of fun, participants found the simulation game very helpful for a gaining a better understanding of energy conflicts. The trainers always brought extensive background, experience and seemed to really enjoy what they were doing. A very rewarding cooperation!”

    Dirk Schmittchen (German Economy Foundation, Berlin)

Das Planspiel „Die fontanische Frage“ mit der Stiftung der deutschen Wirtschaft

Fluch oder Segen? – Ölressourcen als Konfliktursache

  • © Dirk Enters

Ist es Fluch oder Segen, wenn in einem innenpolitisch instabilen Staat Ölvorräte entdeckt werden, die groß genug sind, um viele wirtschaftliche Schwierigkeiten beheben zu können? In zwei parallel laufenden Planspielen erleben insgesamt 60 Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten der Stiftung der deutschen Wirtschaft (sdw), wie groß das Konfliktpotenzial der wichtigen Ressource Öl sein kann.

Wer profitiert von der Ausbeutung der Ressourcen, und welche sicherheitspolitischen Folgen haben natürliche Ressourcen für die Dynamik innerstaatlicher Konflikte? Die Akteure in diesem Planspiel reichen von privaten und staatlichen Ölkonzernen über nationale und lokale Regierungen bis hin zu substaatlichen Oppositions- und Rebellengruppen.

Das Planspiel eignet sich hervorragend als Einführung in eine allgemeine Diskussion über weltweite Energieressourcen und die drohenden Konflikte um ihre Verteilung: Am Beispiel des fiktiven Landes Fontanien werden die Konflikte um Ressourcen nachgestellt. Dabei können die Teilnehmenden die Spielsituationen durch Aktionen selbst aktiv beeinflussen. Entsprechend der Interessen der von ihnen gespielten Rolle werden sie den Konflikt mit ihren Aktionen eher anheizen oder auch zur friedlichen Beilegung beitragen – der Ausgang ist – wie immer bei Planspielen – offen.

In der Auswertung wird immer wieder darauf hingewiesen, dass die zentralen Eigenschaften der Dynamik des Planspiels mangelndes Vertrauen, unvollständige Informationen über den Verlauf sowie strukturelle Nachteile der moderaten Kräfte (Geld, Waffen, etc.) sind.

Das Planspiel „Die fontanische Frage“ haben wir inzwischen mehr als 20 Mal in unterschiedlichen Ländern durchgeführt, und nur ganz selten wurde eine friedliche Lösung des Konflikts erzielt. Leider zeigen die aktuell besonders vielen ungelösten realen Konflikte, dass das Spiel sehr nah an der Wirklichkeit liegt. Die Gründe für den Ausbruch gewaltsamer Konflikte im Kampf um lebenswichtige Ressourcen besser nachvollziehen zu können, ist entsprechend eines der wichtigsten Lernziele dieses aktionsorientierten Planspiels.

Fakten

Zielgruppe

Stipendiat/innen der sdw

Zielsetzung
  • Konfliktdynamiken verstehen
  • Herausforderungen friedlicher Konfliktlösung nachvollziehen können
Auftraggeber/in

Stiftung der Deutschen Wirtschaft e.V. (sdw)

Dauer Veranstaltung

1 Tag

Anzahl der Teilnehmenden

30

Ort

Gelsenkirchen

Sprache

Deutsch

Kompetenzen

Stimmen

  • Mit planpolitik habe ich ein ganztägiges Planspiel zu Energiekonflikten für eine Akademie zum Thema "Mensch und Energie" für 60 Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten der Stiftung durchgeführt. Insgesamt vier Mal wurde diese Akademie angeboten, und planpolitik war jedes Mal dabei. Das Planspiel haben die Mitarbeiter von planpolitik extra für diese Veranstaltungsreihe entwickelt und dabei nach jeder Akademie weiter vebessert und perfektioniert. Neben viel Spaß war das Planspiel sehr hilfreich für die Teilnehmer, um die Komplexität von Energiekonflikten besser zu verstehen. Dabei waren die Mitarbeiter immer mit Spaß und Sachverstand dabei. Eine sehr angenehme Kooperation!

    Dirk Schmittchen (Referent in der Stiftung der Deutschen Wirtschaft, Berlin)