Beyond panel discussions: interactive formats for events

Training seminar on interactive methods in Tunisia

How do I turn passive listeners into active participants? How do I encourage the listeners to not just take what they’ve heard for granted, but to get involved in the discussion, contribute to the exchange and have fun in the process? In this four-day training seminar for future leaders from all over Tunisia, we introduced, tested and discussed a wide range of interactive formats for the different phases of an event – all in French!

Tunisia is a paradise of sorts for interactive formats – as soon as a new exercise has been introduced, a discussion ensues. Very lively, very involved, always with humour and a great thirst for knowledge. Therefore it is all the more surprising that interactive methods beyond the panel discussion are practically unknown in Tunisia. The same seems to be the case for many other regions of the world. We have facilitated variations of this training seminar in Ethiopia, Vietnam and the Philippines – as well as in Germany. So far, the potential of interactive methods does not seem to have been recognised.

During the training seminar organised by the Friedrich Ebert Foundation Tunisia for a group of future leaders (the so-called „Génération Avenir“), each method was first tested by the participants. We believe that participants of training seminars, too, learn the most by trying things out themselves.

The methods introduced in the seminar were structured along the following learning modules that build upon one another and each serve a different purpose:

  1. Start and ‘energizer‘ without topical relevance
  2. First topical point of entry
  3. Continuation of topical work
  4. Longer and more complex methods make up the main part
  5. Methods for presenting and discussing results
  6. Evaluation

Based on what they learnt, the participants went on to develop concrete ideas for events, some of which have already been successfully realised. This fast transfer into professional reality is, of course, a particularly welcome result of a training seminar.

Facts + Figures

Target group

Young Professionals und multipliers from all of Tunisia, „Génération Avenir“

Objectives
  • Introduction to interactive methods
  • Recognise the potential of using interactive methods
  • Being able to use and teach the methods oneself
Client(s)

Friedrich Ebert Foundation Tunisia

Duration

3 days

Number of participants

30

Location(s)

Tunis (Tunisia)

Language(s)

French

Competencies

Jenseits der Podiumsdiskussion – interaktive Formate für Veranstaltungen

Fortbildung zu interaktiven Methoden in Tunesien

Wie werden aus passiven Zuhörenden aktive Teilnehmende? Wie ermuntere ich die Zuhörenden, das Gehörte nicht nur als gegeben hinzunehmen, sondern die Diskussion und den Austausch aktiv mitzugestalten und dazu auch noch Spaß zu haben? In dieser 4-tägigen Fortbildung für zukünftige Führungskräfte aus ganz Tunesien haben wir zahlreiche interaktive Formate für die unterschiedlichen Phasen einer Veranstaltung vorgestellt, getestet und diskutiert – und das alles auf Französisch.

Tunesien ist an sich für interaktive Formate so etwas wie das Paradies – kaum ist eine neue Übung erklärt, wird schon diskutiert. Sehr lebendig, sehr engagiert, sehr wissbegierig und dabei immer mit Humor. Umso überraschender, dass interaktive Methoden jenseits der Podiumsdiskussion in Tunesien praktisch unbekannt sind. Ähnliches gilt offenbar für viele andere Regionen der Welt. Zumindest haben wir Varianten dieses Trainings bereits in Äthiopien, Vietnam sowie auf den Philippinen durchgeführt – und auch in Deutschland. Das Potenzial interaktiver Methoden scheint jedenfalls bisher nur ansatzweise erkannt worden zu sein.

Während der von der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung Tunesien organisierten Fortbildung für eine Gruppe zukünftiger Führungskräfte (die sogenannte „Génération Avenir“) wurde jede vorgestellte Methode von den Teilnehmenden zunächst getestet, da wir der Überzeugung sind, dass auch in Fortbildungen die Teilnehmenden am Nachhaltigsten lernen, wenn sie Dinge selbst ausprobieren.

Dabei gliederten sich die vorgestellten Methoden nach folgenden Lernmodulen, die aufeinander aufbauen und jeweils einen anderen Zweck erfüllen:

  1. Einstieg und ‘Energizer‘ ohne Themenbezug
  2. Erster Einstieg mit Themenbezug
  3. Weiterführung des thematischen Einstiegs
  4. Längere und komplexere Methoden als Hauptteil
  5. Methoden, um Ergebnisse zu präsentieren und diskutieren
  6. Auswertung

Aufbauend auf dem Erlernten entwickelten die Teilnehmenden konkrete Veranstaltungsideen, die z.T. bereits erfolgreich umgesetzt wurden. Dieser schnelle Transfer in die berufliche Realität ist natürlich ein besonders erfreuliches Ergebnis einer Fortbildung.

Fakten

Zielgruppe

Young Professionals und Multiplikator/innen aus ganz Tunesien, „Génération Avenir“

Zielsetzung
  • Interaktive Methoden kennenlernen und testen
  • Mehrwert vom Einsatz interaktiver Methoden erkennen
  • In der Lage sein, diese Methoden selber einzusetzen und anzuleiten
Auftraggeber/in

Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung e.V. Tunesien

Dauer Veranstaltung

3 Tage

Anzahl der Teilnehmenden

30

Ort

Tunis/Tunesien

Sprache

Französisch

Kompetenzen