A future workshop on youth work in Sassnitz/Rügen

Help! The kids are running away!

How can youth work meet more young peoples’ needs? How can the different formats and topics be combined in order to reach young people and avoid unnecessary duplications in youth work programmes? During a three-day future workshop in Sassnitz/Rügen, 30 expert youth workers developed new cooperative paths in youth work.

Youth work in Sassnitz on the German island of Rügen is facing immense challenges: Less and less young people are actually living in the town. Those who do have very few perspectives for the future except working in the tourist sector. Public funding for youth work is limited. Many of the existing programmes do not seem to reach young people, and the different providers cooperate occasionally, some of them have had fallings-out with one another. There is serious competition in the shape of far-right groups attempting to win young people over with their activities.

Given this background, there are a lot of questions about the future of youth work in Sassnitz. Following an initiative by organisers of the programme “Lernen vor Ort” (“Learning on location”), all the relevant actors were brought together to develop new strategies for youth work – by using the method of a future workshop under our guidance. After the “critique phase” (what is currently going wrong in youth work in Sassnitz and why?), the participants developed visions for the future of youth work in Sassnitz without regard for current institutional or financial restrictions.

These visions were then transformed into actual projects and new institutional structures whose chance of being implemented seemed realistic.

An extensive documentation collected all the results and was presented to the town council as well as the mayor of Sassnitz in a specially arranged meeting. The reaction from the town’s administration was very positive. As a result, many of the projects developed during the future workshop four years ago have since been realised – you may well recognise them when visiting Sassnitz as a tourist.

Facts + Figures

Target group

Youth workers in Sassnitz

Objectives
  • How can youth work in Sassnitz be improved and actually meet young people's needs?
  • How do the structures of youth work need to change in order to become more effective and efficient?
Client(s)

„Lernen vor Ort“ Sassnitz

Duration

3 days

Number of participants

30

Location(s)

Sassnitz

Language(s)

German

Competencies

Testimonials

  • I want to thank you for moderating the Future Workshop. You managed to create a wonderful working climate as well as leading us to a top result. All the best for your future work!

    Kathrin Gloede (Trainer, Kreisdiakonisches Werk Stralsund e.V.)

Eine Zukunftswerkstatt zur Jugendarbeit in Sassnitz/Rügen

Hilfe – die Jugend rennt weg!

Wie können die Angebote der Jugendarbeit besser auf die Bedürfnisse der Jugendlichen zugeschnitten werden? Wie können die verschiedenen Angebote miteinander verknüpft werden, um die Jugendlichen besser zu erreichen und unnötige Doppelangebote zu vermeiden? In Sassnitz auf Rügen entwickelten 30 Fachkräfte der Jugendarbeit in einer dreitägigen Zukunftswerkstatt neue, kooperative Wege der Jugendarbeit.

Die Herausforderungen für die Jugendarbeit in Sassnitz sind immens: In dem Ort leben immer weniger Jugendliche. Zugleich haben sie abgesehen von einer Tätigkeit in der Tourismusbranche kaum Zukunftsperspektiven. Die öffentlichen Gelder für Jugendarbeit sind begrenzt. Viele der bestehenden Angebote erreichen die Jugendlichen nicht, und die verschiedenen Anbieter arbeiten nur punktuell zusammen oder sind gar untereinander zerstritten. Als ernstzunehmende Konkurrenz existieren gut organisierte rechte Gruppierungen im und um den Ort herum, die mit ihren Aktionen junge Menschen an sich binden wollen.

Vor diesem Hintergrund gibt es eine Menge offener Fragen zur Zukunft der Jugendarbeit in Sassnitz. Auf Initiative der Mitarbeiterinnen des Programms „Lernen vor Ort“ wurden die relevanten Akteure zusammengebracht, um unter unserer Anleitung und mithilfe der Methode Zukunftswerkstatt neue Wege für die Jugendarbeit zu erarbeiten. Nach der Kritikphase (Was läuft in der Jugendarbeit in Sassnitz derzeit schief und warum?) entwickelten die Teilnehmenden Visionen für die Zukunft der Jugendarbeit in Sassnitz, unabhängig von institutionellen oder finanziellen Restriktionen.

Diese Visionen wurden anschließend in konkrete Projekte und neue institutionelle Strukturen transformiert, die eine reelle Chance auf Umsetzung haben könnten.

In einer ausführlichen Dokumentation wurden die Ergebnisse zusammengetragen und anschließend in einer extra anberaumten Sitzung dem Stadtrat sowie dem Bürgermeister von Sassnitz vorgestellt. Die Akzeptanz in der Stadtverwaltung war groß, und so sind seit der Zukunftswerkstatt vor vier Jahren erfreulicherweise zahlreiche Projekte umgesetzt worden, die Sie möglicherweise auch als Tourist/in in Sassnitz erkennen können.

Fakten

Zielgruppe

Fachkräfte der Jugendarbeit in Sassnitz

Zielsetzung
  • Wie kann die Jugendarbeit in Sassnitz verbessert werden und den tatsächlichen Bedürfnissen der Jugendlichen gerecht werden?
  • Wie müssen die Strukturen der Jugendarbeit verändert werden, um effektiver und effizienter zu werden?
Auftraggeber/in

„Lernen vor Ort“ Sassnitz

Dauer Veranstaltung

3 Tage

Anzahl der Teilnehmenden

30

Ort

Sassnitz

Sprache

Deutsch

Kompetenzen

Stimmen

  • Ich wollte mich bei euch für die Moderation der Zukunftswerkstatt bedanken. Ihr habt es geschafft, eine wunderbare Arbeitsatmosphäre aufzubauen und uns zu einem klasse Ergebnis zu führen. Alles Gute für eure weitere Arbeit!

    Kathrin Gloede (Pädagogische Mitarbeiterin Kreisdiakonisches Werk Stralsund e.V.)