Training seminars on interactive educational formats on climate change and climate policy

Teach climate change interactively

How can you teach the causes and effect of climate change so that young people develop interest in the subject? As part of our training on interactive educational methods in the field of climate change and climate policy we offer shorter and longer games, warm ups, films, videos and introductory materials. In cooperating with the Office of the Friedrich Ebert Foundation in Vietnam, we have carried out simultaneously two five-day training.

The training seminar on facilitating a simulation on international climate policy on UN level had to be adapted many times. Test runs in Vietnam had shown that the game was too complex and abstract for the target groups – even when translated into Vietnamese.

We changed the programme on location, including numerous newly developed elements that allowed us to first introduce the causes and effects of climate change and then move on to assess the political dimension of climate change. We used small games and introductory exercises as well as films, videos and introduction materials.

We then guided the participants in developing different programmes for climate workshops in Vietnam that were suited to the target groups and their levels of prior knowledge. The participants of the training seminar can now facilitate the simulation game “International Climate Policy” themselves. We are looking forward to hearing the feedback from the first test runs, which will take place before the end of this year.

We also learnt a lot – one must always be prepared to redesign the planned programme; one must be able to improvise when the language skills of the participants are insufficient for doing exercises in English and that young Vietnamese people tend to be shy at first but then often develop great enthusiasm for simulation games and interaction.

Facts + Figures

Target group

Young multipliers from all over Vietnam

Objectives
  • Introduction to basics: climate change and climate policy
  • Introduction to negotiation training
  • Introduction to the simulation game as a method
  • Enabling participants to run simulation games and workshops on climate change and international climate policy
Client(s)

Friedrich Ebert Foudation Vietnam

Duration

4 days each

Number of participants

20

Location(s)

Cuc Phuong and Sapa, Vietnam

Language(s)

English, partly Vietnamese with translation

Competencies

Testimonials

  • The initial scenario was not easy: a group of Vietnamese youngsters, some extremely shy, whose English often left a lot to be desired and whose knowledge of climate change and international negotiations was close to zero. Thanks to their flexible apprach and enormous experience and knowledge, Simon Raiser and Björn Warkalla managed not only to bring the group up to speed on the topics, but also to motivate them to continue playing the climate game themselves and with other students. Hats off!

    Sonja Schirmbeck, Friedrich Ebert Foundation Vietnam

Fortbildungen zu interaktiven Bildungsangeboten im Bereich Klimawandel und Klimapolitik

Klimawandel interaktiv vermitteln

Wie vermittelt man die Ursachen und Folgen des Klimawandels so, dass junge Menschen Interesse an dem Thema entwickeln? Im Rahmen unserer Fortbildung zu interaktiven Bildungsangeboten im Bereich Klimawandel und Klimapolitik bieten wir einen Überblick zu kürzeren und längeren Spielen, Einstiegsübungen, Filmen, Videos und einführenden Materialsammlungen. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Büro der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung in Vietnam haben wir gleich zwei fünftägige Fortbildungen durchgeführt.

Die ursprünglich geplante Fortbildung zur Durchführung eines Planspiels zur internationalen Klimapolitik auf UN-Ebene musste immer wieder angepasst werden. Probedurchläufe in Vietnam hatten gezeigt, dass das Spiel auch in der vietnamesischen Übersetzung für die geplanten Zielgruppen zu abstrakt und anspruchsvoll war.

Daraufhin überarbeiteten wir jeweils vor Ort das Programm komplett und bauten zahlreiche neu entwickelte Bausteine ein. Mit deren Hilfe konnten zunächst einmal die Ursachen des Klimawandels und seine Folgen eingeführt werden, um im Anschluss daran die politische Dimension des Klimawandels zu thematisieren. Dabei setzten wir kleine Spiele und Einstiegsübungen ein sowie Filme, Videos und einführende Materialsammlungen.

Gemeinsam mit den Teilnehmenden erarbeiteten wir anschließend unterschiedliche Programme für Klima-Workshops in Vietnam, die den Zielgruppen und ihren Vorkenntnissen entsprechen. Darauf aufbauend kann dann das Planspiel „Internationale Klimapolitik“ von den Fortbildungsteilnehmer/innen selbständig durchgeführt werden. Wir sind gespannt auf das Feedback nach den ersten Probedurchläufen, die noch in diesem Jahr stattfinden werden.

Auch wir haben viel dazu gelernt – nämlich, dass man stets bereit sein muss, das geplante Programm weitgehend umzugestalten, dass man improvisieren muss, wenn das Sprachniveau der Teilnehmenden nicht ausreicht, um alle Übungen auf Englisch zu machen und dass junge Vietnames/innen zwar zunächst schüchtern sind, dann aber eine große Begeisterung entwickeln können, wenn es um Spiele und Interaktion geht.

Fakten

Zielgruppe

Junge Multiplikator/innen aus ganz Vietnam

Zielsetzung
  • Einführung in Grundlagen: Klimawandel und Klimapolitik
  • Einführung in Verhandlungstraining
  • Einführung in Methode Planspiel
  • Befähigung, zukünftig selber Planspiele und Workshops zum Thema Klimawandel und internationale Klimapolitik durchzuführen
Auftraggeber/in

Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung e.V. Vietnam

Dauer Veranstaltung

jeweils 4 Tage

Anzahl der Teilnehmenden

20

Ort

Cuc Phuong und Sapa, Vietnam

Sprache

Englisch, z.T. Vietnamesisch mit Übersetzung

Kompetenzen

Stimmen

  • Die Ausgangslage war nicht einfach: Eine Gruppe teils sehr schüchterner, junger Vietnames/innen, deren Englisch oft zu wünschen übrig ließ und deren Vorwissen über den Klimawandel und über internationale Verhandlungsprozesse gegen Null tendierte. Simon Raiser und Björn Warkalla haben es - dank ihrer flexiblen Herangehensweise und ihrem enormen Erfahrungsschatz - geschafft, die Gruppe nicht nur in diesen Themen fit zu machen, sondern auch so zu motivieren, dass sie das Klima-Planspiel nun in Eigenregie fortsetzen und mit Studierenden spielen möchte. Hut ab!

    Sonja Schirmbeck, Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung Vietnam