Seminars incl. simulation game for Master of European Studies (MES)

Lecture at European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder)

Science does not have to be dry and theoretical! Since 2008, planpolitik have shown that there is a different way. The four-day block seminars at European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder) combine academic teaching with interactive methods such as simulation games, negotiation training and future workshops. Since 2014, a two-week online simulation game is integrated. Thus students experience European policy-making by becoming actors themselves.

In the winter semester of 2014 the block seminar concerned itself with the topic of “The EU and its Eastern neighbours”, an area rich with problems for EU foreign policy: The crisis in Ukraine, the dictatorship in Belarus, separatism in Transnistria, tensions in Georgia. What are the causes of these developments and what are the EU’s possible options for action?

The seminar uses two fictional simulation games to explore these questions. The part of the seminar dealing with the pre-negotiations about the simulated summit takes place online, using our interactive simulation game platform (the demo version provides a sense of the experience). By contrast, traditional forms of teaching such as lectures and presentations are largely absent.

Topics in past years have ranged from asylum policy to climate negotiations, from the EU crisis to “future of the EU”. Usually, the students will research their simulation game roles themselves, and a negotiation training is integrated into the seminar as preparation for the games. Results and insights will be discussed in small groups or in a future workshop. A journalistic essay provides room for reflection and – finally back to traditional teaching styles – is marked.

Facts + Figures

Target group

Master's students of European Studies at European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder)

Objectives
  • Understanding and using theory in order to scrutinise European policy-making and interaction of relevant actors
Client(s)

European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder)

Duration

4 days

Number of participants

15-25

Location(s)

Frankfurt (Oder)

Language(s)

German

Competencies

Testimonials

  • I liked this seminar format very much. They should offer this type of thing more often at uni. You clearly learn a lot more than in more theoretical seminars!

    participant, summer semester 2013

  • Differentiating between formal and informal negotiations in the simulation game and realising that informal negotiations take up more space and time during the simulation game was very informative: particularly because these informal aspects are only briefly mentioned – or not at all – in many seminars and other simulation games such (MUN, POLIS, SIMEP et al.), despite the fact that the crucial decisions tend to be made outside the official procedure in Parliament and the Commission.

    participant, winter semester 2012

  • Not only was the simulation game a lot of fun, it was also very interesting. Before taking part in the seminar, I had never paid much attention to the topic, now I'm increasingly interested in it. What's more, the exercises during the game were very illuminating and not only gave us closer insights into the topic of asylum policy but also gave us the opportunity to’play’ procedures and structures within the European institutions, leading to a much better understanding of the way institutions work. I would definitely take part in more simulation games anytime, it has given me a lot.

    participant, summer semester 2013

  • It was well-organised, well-structured and well thought out. The online phase was very useful and exciting. The actual block seminar was even more exciting and informative.

    participant, winter semester 2014

  • Finally something practical! I have learnt a lot, discussed a lot. There were a lot of new incentives.

    participant, winter semester 2014

Seminare mit Planspiel im Master of European Studies (MES)

Lehrauftrag an der Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder)

  • © Ralf Lotys (Sicherlich) - Eigenes Werk, CC BY 2.5, via Wikimedia Commons

Wissenschaft muss nicht trocken und theoretisch sein! Seit 2008 tritt planpolitik Semester für Semester den Beweis dafür an. Die viertägigen Blockseminare an der Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder) verbinden akademische Lehre mit interaktiven Methoden wie Planspiel, Verhandlungstraining und Zukunftswerkstatt. Seit 2014 ist ein zweiwöchiges Online-Planspiel integriert. So erleben die Studierenden europäische Politikgestaltung werden selbst zu den handelnden Akteuren.

Im WS 2014 befasst sich das Blockseminar mit dem Thema „Die EU und ihre östlichen Nachbarn“, denn die EU-Außenpolitik steht hier vor großen Problemen: Krise in der Ukraine, Diktatur in Belarus, Separatismus in Transnistiren, Spannungen in Georgien. Wo liegen die Ursachen dieser Entwicklungen, und was sind mögliche Handlungsoptionen der EU?

Anhand eines fiktiven Planspiels geht das Seminar diesen Fragen nach. Ein Teil des Seminars, nämlich die Vorverhandlungen zum Planspiel-Gipfeltreffen, fand online auf unserer interaktiven Planspielplattform statt (einen Eindruck vom Online-Spielerlebnis bietet die Demo-Version). Auf klassische Formen der Lehre wie Vorlesung und Referat wird hingegen weitgehend verzichtet.

Die Themen der vergangenen Jahre reichten von Asylpolitik über Klimaverhandlungen und Eurokrise bis hin zur „Zukunft der EU.“ Meist recherchieren die Studierenden ihre Planspiel-Rollen selbst, außerdem ist ein Verhandlungstraining als Vorbereitung in das Seminar integriert. Die Ergebnisse und Erkenntnisse werden in Kleingruppen oder in einer Zukunftswerkstatt diskutiert. Ein journalistischer Essay dient der Reflexion und – dann doch ganz im Stil der klassischen Lehre – der Benotung.

Fakten

Zielgruppe

Studierende im Master of European Studies an der Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder)

Zielsetzung
  • Europäische Politikgestaltung und das Zusammenspiel der Akteure in der EU verstehen und theoretisch hinterfragen
Auftraggeber/in

Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder)

Dauer Veranstaltung

4 Seminartage

Anzahl der Teilnehmenden

15-25

Ort

Frankfurt (Oder)

Sprache

Deutsch

Kompetenzen

Stimmen

  • Das Veranstaltungsformat hat mir sehr gut gefallen. Sollte häufiger an der Uni angeboten werden, so lernt man deutlich mehr als in den meisten anderen, theoretischen (!) Veranstaltungen!

    Teilnehmerin im SoSe 2013

  • Die Differenzierung zwischen formellen und informellen Verhandlungen und dass die informellen Verhandlungen mehr und mehr Raum und Zeit während des Planspiels einnahmen, war sehr aufschlussreich: insbesondere deswegen, weil ebendiese informellen Aspekte in vielen Seminaren und anderen Planspielen (MUN, POLIS, SIMEP u.a.) sehr kurz oder gar nicht vorkommen, obwohl gerade fernab des offiziellen Prozedere in Parlament und Kommission die wesentlichen Entscheidungen vorbereitet werden.

    Teilnehmer im WS 2012

  • Mir hat das Planspiel nicht nur sehr viel Spaß bereitet, es war darüber hinaus sehr interessant. Das Thema war im Vorfeld der Veranstaltung überhaupt nicht in meinem Blickwinkel und interessiert mich zunehmend. Des Weiteren haben wir durch sehr veranschaulichende Übungen im Planspiel nicht nur die Thematik zur Asylpolitik näher kennengelernt, sondern auch bestimmte Abläufe und Strukturen innerhalb der europäischen Institutionen "gespielt", wodurch sich ein viel besseres Verständnis über die Arbeitsweise in Institutionen ergeben hat. Ich würde jeder Zeit wieder ein Planspiel besuchen, es hat mir sehr viel gebracht.

    Teilnehmerin im SoSe 2013

  • Die Organisation sehr gut durchdacht und strukturiert. Online Phase sehr nützlich und spannend. Das tatsächliche Blockseminar dann noch spannender und lehrreich.

    Teilnehmer im WS 2014

  • Endlich etwas Praktisches! Ich habe viel gelernt, mitdiskutiert und Anreize gesammelt.

    Teilnehmerin im WS 2014