Our simulation game “Democracy lab” in Serbia – without trainers from planpolitik

License to simulate

In the summer of 2014, we received a phone call from a member of the Serbian Organisation Institute for Youth Development KULT: They were about to hold a seminar with first-time voters in Serbia and were interested in playing our simulation game “Democracy lab” as part of the seminar. Would it be possible to be sent the game materials?

We agreed to provide the materials for a license fee – we thought it was a worthwhile project. According to the feedback from Serbia, the game was a great success. Of course, we were a little disappointed not to be able to have travelled to Serbia for this exciting project ourselves. But at the same time we are very happy that our simulation game contributed to conveying to the many participants how politics actually works.

For KULT, we provided the materials for a one-off use only. But in our experience a license to use the materials without any prior training is only advisable with very simple simulation games.

Some partner organisations have purchased licences for more complex games for use in several instances or for unlimited use – after we had conducted a training for the facilitation of simulation games with a selected group of multipliers. Such licence agreements are in place in Tunisia, Vietnam, Bosnia and Herzegovina and in Germany.

We do prefer to conduct our games ourselves – not least so that we can guarantee the game fulfils its desired function. However, if it helps to increase a project’s sustainability, we are more than prepared to negotiate a licence.

Facts + Figures

Target group

Multipliers

Objectives
  • Independent facilitation of a simulation game
Client(s)

various

Duration

various

Number of participants

various

Location(s)

various

Language(s)

German, English

Competencies

Testimonials

  • Shortly - it was great! Participants really got into the simulation, and we had an excellent media team who conducted a talk show. Our evaluations show that participants value this form of learning, and they learned a lot about the elections. There was really that - AHAAA moment, especially from the younger participants (who had never voted before).

    Tatjana Ljubić, Institute for Youth Development KULT

Unser Planspiel „Demokratielabor“ in Serbien – ohne Trainer von planpolitik

Lizenz zum Planspielen

  • © KULT Serbien

Sommer 2014 – ein Anruf von einer Mitarbeiterin der serbischen Organisation Institute for Youth Development KULT: Sie würden demnächst ein Seminar mit Jungwähler/innen in Serbien durchführen und hätten Interesse, dort unser Planspiel „Demokratielabor“ durchzuführen. Ob es eine Möglichkeit gebe, die Planspielmaterialien zu erhalten?

Wir sagten zu, auch weil es uns als ein sinnvolles Projekt erschien – gegen eine Lizenzgebühr stellten wir den Kolleg/innen in Serbien die Materialien zur Verfügung.

Das Feedback ergab, dass das Spiel offenbar ein großer Erfolg war. Natürlich waren wir etwas enttäuscht, für dieses spannende Projekt nicht selbst nach Serbien gereist zu sein. Doch ebenso freut es uns, dass unser Planspiel dazu beigetragen hat vielen Teilnehmenden zu vermitteln, wie Politik funktioniert.

Für KULT in Serbien haben wir die Materialien nur für eine einmalige Durchführung zur Verfügung gestellt. Unserer Erfahrung nach ist eine Lizenz für die Nutzung der Materialien ohne vorgeschobene Fortbildung allerdings nur bei sehr einfachen Planspielen zu empfehlen.

Bei komplexeren Planspielen haben einige Partnerorganisationen auch Lizenzen für mehrere bzw. unbegrenzte Durchführungen ohne unsere Teilnahme erworben – nachdem wir für einen ausgewählten Kreis an Multiplikator/innen eine Fortbildung zur Anleitung von Planspielen durchgeführt hatten. Solche Lizenzvereinbarungen gibt es z.B. in Tunesien, in Vietnam, in Bosnien und Herzegowina und auch in Deutschland.

Am liebsten führen wir unsere Planspiele immer noch selbst durch – auch, um sicherzustellen, dass die Durchführung ihren gewünschten Zweck erfüllt. Wenn es allerdings die Nachhaltigkeit eines Projektvorhabens erhöht, sind wir durchaus bereit, über eine Lizenz zur Nutzung zu beraten.

Fakten

Zielgruppe

Multiplikator/innen

Zielsetzung
  • Selbständige Durchführung eines Planspiels
Auftraggeber/in

diverse

Dauer Veranstaltung

diverse

Anzahl der Teilnehmenden

diverse

Ort

diverse

Sprache

Deutsch, Englisch

Kompetenzen

Stimmen

  • Kurzum – es war super! Die Teilnehmer haben die Simulation wirklich angenommen, und wir hatten ein großartiges Medien-Team, das eine Talkshow veranstaltet hat. Unsere Evaluation zeigt, dass die Teilnehmer diese Art des Lernens sehr schätzen, und dass sie viel über die Wahlen gelernt haben. Es gab wirklich diesen AHAAA-Moment, insbesondere bei den jüngeren Teilnehmern (die noch nie gewählt haben).

    Tatjana Ljubić, Institute for Youth Development KULT