Simulation game on lobbying in the EU as part of the Bertelsmann Summer Academy on Europe

Lobbyists are only doing a job like any other, right?

The European Parliament is a meeting point for MEPs, politicians from national Parliaments, media representatives and – lobbyists. The participants of the Bertelsmann Summer Academy use the simulation game “Lobbyism in the European Union” to examine the role and respective perspectives of lobbying groups in the European legislative process and then discuss their experiences with lobbying experts from Brussels.

Every year, between 20 and 30 young professionals from politics, economics and media used to take part in the Bertelsmann Foundation’s Summer Academy. The participants are dealing with Europe through their work and were therefore put forward for the Academy by their respective institutions.

In 2010, planpolitik developed a simulation game for this ambitious and demanding programme. The game dealt with the role played by interest groups in European law-making. Above all, the aim was to give the participants a change in perspective, enabling them to gain a better understanding of the respective other professional groups and the challenges each of them faces. In order to achieve this, none of the roles in the European Commission, the interest groups and the media were distributed in correspondence to the actual backgrounds of the participants.

The simulation game itself only takes three hours. This means that there was enough time at the end for the participants to exchange experiences with lobby experts from Brussels and conduct a critical discussion about the role of lobbying in Brussels.

The first time the game was played at the Academy was such a success that it has since become a fixture on the programme.

 

Facts + Figures

Target group

Participants of the Bertelsmann Summer Academy: young professionals from politics, media and economics whose work is related to Europe

Objectives
  • Understanding the interaction of politics, interest groups and media within the European legislative process
  • Getting to know the respective other professional groups' perspectives by having to take them on in the game
Duration

4 h

Number of participants

20-30

Location(s)

Schloss Steinhöfel in Steinhöfel

Language(s)

German

Competencies

Testimonials

  • I'd like to use this opportunity to thank you very much for your involvement in this year's Summer Academy, which was very well received by the participants. As always, the simulation game was extremely popular as could be heard in the feedback round on Friday.

    Gabriele Schöler, Bertelsmann Foundation, Senior Project Manager Programme Europes Future

  • I have never learnt so much in so little time about the obstacles during international negotiations. #SommerAkademieEuropa @BertelsmannSt

    Participant Sabine Rossi @sabine_rossi, Reporter with ARD/WDR, Cologne, Germany

Planspiel zum Lobbying in der EU im Rahmen der Bertelsmann Sommerakademie Europa

Lobbyist/innen machen auch nur ihren Job! Oder?

  • © Sebastian Pfütze
  • © Sebastian Pfütze

Im Europäischen Parlament treffen sich Abgeordnete, Politiker/innen aus nationalen Parlamenten, Medienvertreter/innen – und Lobbyist/innen. Die Teilnehmenden der Bertelsmann Sommerakademie Europa setzen sich im Planspiel „Lobbyismus in der Europäischen Union“ mit der Rolle und jeweiligen Perspektive von Lobby-Gruppen im Europäischen Gesetzgebungsprozess auseinander und diskutieren ihre Erfahrungen anschließend mit Brüsseler Lobby-Expert/innen.

An der Sommerakademie Europa der Bertelsmann-Stiftung nahmen jedes Jahr zwischen 20 und 30 Young Professionals aus Politik, Wirtschaft und Medien teil. Beruflich befassen sich die Teilnehmenden mit dem Thema Europa und wurden deswegen von ihren jeweiligen Institutionen für die Akademie vorgeschlagen.

Für dieses ambitionierte und anspruchsvolle Programm entwickelte planpolitik im Jahr 2010 ein Planspiel, das die Rolle von Interessengruppen in der europäischen Gesetzgebung thematisiert. Vor allem aber sollten die Teilnehmenden über einen Perspektivwechsel zu einem besseren Verständnis der jeweils anderen Berufsgruppen und ihren Herausforderungen kommen. Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, wurden die Rollen der Europäischen Kommission, der Interessengruppen und der Medien im Planspiel jeweils entgegen der beruflichen Hintergründe der Teilnehmenden besetzt.

Das Planspiel selbst dauert nur gute 3 Stunden. So bleibt im Anschluss noch ausreichend Zeit, damit die Teilnehmenden sich über ihre Erfahrungen austauschen und mit Brüsseler Lobby-Expert/innen kritisch über die Rolle des Lobbying in Brüssel diskutieren können.

Die erste Durchführung war ein solcher Erfolg, dass unser Planspiel seitdem fester Bestandteil des Programms der Sommerakademie Europa geworden ist.

Fakten

Zielgruppe

Teilnehmende der Sommerakademie Europa der Bertelsmann-Stiftung: Young Professionals aus Politik, Medien und Wirtschaft mit Bezug zu Europa

Zielsetzung
  • Das Zusammenspiel von Politik, Interessengruppen und Medien im europäischen Gesetzgebungsprozess verstehen
  • Die Perspektive der jeweils anderen Berufsgruppen einnehmen und kennenlernen
Dauer Veranstaltung

4 h

Anzahl der Teilnehmenden

20-30

Ort

Schloss Steinhöfel in Steinhöfel

Sprache

Deutsch

Kompetenzen

Stimmen

  • Auf diesem Wege bedanke ich mich noch einmal sehr herzlich für Euren Einsatz bei der diesjährigen SommerAkademie, die sowohl insgesamt als auch in ihren Einzelteilen von den Teilnehmern als sehr bereichernd aufgenommen wurde. Das Planspiel ist, wen wundert’s, wieder sehr gut angekommen, das ergab auch noch einmal die Feedback-Runde am Freitag.

    Gabriele Schöler, Bertelsmann Stiftung, Senior Project Manager Programm Europas Zukunft

  • Noch nie habe ich in so kurzer Zeit so viel über die Hürden bei int. Verhandlungen verstanden. #SommerAkademieEuropa @BertelsmannSt

    Teilnehmerin Sabine Rossi @sabine_rossi, Reporterin ARD/WDR, Köln, Deutschland