Assisting the Heinrich Böll Foundation in developing a simulation game

Modern mobility – the simulation game “Tomorrow’s freight traffic“

When we order something online, we expect it delivered to us the next day. At the same time, everybody knows that CO2 emissions must be minimised. We faced this dilemma, together with the Heinrich Böll Foundation, in order to make German transport policy “playable”.

In Germany, 50 tons of goods per person – and rising – are being moved every year. 70 per cent thereof are being hauled across the country’s streets by lorries. However, traffic jams and a crumbling infrastructure are not the country’s only problem. The railway network and waterways need maintenance and modernisation in order to be fit for freight transport in the future.

How can a subject as complex as this be convincingly conveyed while still entertaining participants? The Heinrich Böll Foundation addressed this important subject and asked us to assist them as advisors in the process of developing the simulation game. We developed a suitable concept, oversaw the implementation at every step and facilitated the first run of the game.

By now, the German version of the game is free to download on the Heinrich Böll Foundation website and can be played by smaller groups and without assistance.

 

Facts + Figures

Target group

Employees of Heinrich Böll Foundation

Objectives
  • Developing an easy-to-understand scenario in order to reflect decision processes regarding transport policy-making
  • Abstraction of actors' interests for development of role profiles
  • Establishing rules and schedule
  • Modularising the game in order to allow for flexibility (target groups, duration etc.)
Client(s)

Heinrich Böll Foundation

Duration

2 weeks

Number of participants

3

Location(s)

Berlin

Language(s)

German

Competencies

Beratung der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung bei einer Planspielentwicklung

Mobilität modern – Das Planspiel „Der Güterverkehr von morgen“

  • © Gerd W. Zinke CC BY-SA 3.0

Wer heute im Internet bestellt, erwartet morgen die Lieferung frei Haus. Dabei ist jedoch allen klar: Der CO2-Ausstoß muss minimiert werden. Gemeinsam mit der Heinrich-Böll Stiftung stellten wir uns diesem Spannungsfeld, um die deutsche Verkehrspolitik „spielbar“ zu machen.

Heute werden 50 Tonnen Güter pro Einwohner/in und Jahr in Deutschland bewegt, Tendenz steigend. Allein 70 Prozent davon transportieren LKW über die Straßen der Republik. Allerdings sind Staus und marode Infrastruktur nicht allein das Problem der Straße. Auch das Schienennetz und die Wasserwege stehen unter Modernisierungs- und Instandhaltungsdruck, um fit für den Güterverkehr von morgen zu sein.

Wie kann man ein so komplexes Thema überzeugend und zugleich unterhaltend vermitteln? Die Heinrich-Böll Stiftung hat sich diesem wichtigen Thema angenommen und uns zu Beratungszwecken bei der Entwicklung des Planspiels engagiert. In dieser Funktion haben wir ein passendes Konzept entwickelt, die Ausarbeitung tatkräftig begleitet und die erste Durchführung übernommen.

Mittlerweile steht das Planspiel auf der Webseite der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung zum kostenlosen Download bereit und kann von kleineren Gruppen eigenständig durchgeführt werden.

Fakten

Zielgruppe

Mitarbeiter/innen der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung

Zielsetzung
  • Erarbeitung eines einfach zu verstehendes Szenarios, um verkehrspolitische Entscheidungsprozesse aufzubereiten
  • Abstraktion beteiligter Akteursinteressen zur Entwicklung von Rollenprofilen
  • Erstellung von Regeln und Spielabläufen
  • Modularisierung des Spiels, um Flexibilität (Zielgruppen, Dauer) zu gewährleisten
Auftraggeber/in

Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung e.V.

Dauer Veranstaltung

2 Wochen

Anzahl der Teilnehmenden

3

Ort

Berlin

Sprache

Deutsch

Kompetenzen