Simulation games as a means to participation and integration

planpolitik@JungeIslamKonferenz

How do minority rights have to be designed in  heterogenous societies in order to facilitate a pluralistic coexistence? How to address the friction of freedom of speech and religion on one side and anti-Islamic stereotypes on the other? Our simulation games at the Young Islam Conference try to answer these questions and contribute to the integration debate.

Since 2014, planpolitik has been a regular partner of the Young Islam Conference (YIC). The YIC is a project by forum k&b gmbh and the Humboldt University of Berlin, co-funded by the Mercator Foundation. Based on the idea of the „big“ German Islam Conference, created in 2006 following an initiative by the Federal Government, the YIC aims to provide young people with or without migration backgrounds with a forum for exchange about Islam in Germany and social participation.

By now the YIC exists in several Federal states, and our simulation games have become a regular feature. Of course, the games always address the role of Islam, or, more broadly speaking, of religion, in Germany, but they each highlight different aspects, such as contentious plans for a new mosque, the limits of free speech when staging a theatre play or the formulation of minority rights in a constitutional assembly. What all games have in common is that they address intercultural sensibilities and difficult social issues.

High-ranking politicians have long recognised the YIC’s potential. Federal state prime ministers, mayors or presidents of regional parliaments regularly discuss the simulation games’ results with participants and arrange for the events to take place in their parliament buildings. The fact that these games usually take place in such representative environments makes for the welcome side effect that it is a very special experience, and not just for the participants.

Facts + Figures

Target group

Young people between 17 and 25, with or without migration backgrounds

Objectives
  • Reduce prejudices and racism
  • Develop policy recommendations
  • Strengthening the open and diverse society
Client(s)

Young Islam Conference

Duration

1 day

Number of participants

40

Location(s)

Berlin, Düsseldorf, Hamburg, Kiel

Language(s)

German

Competencies

Planspiele als Mittel zu Teilhabe und Integration

planpolitik@JungeIslamKonferenz

  • © Miguel Ferraz / JIK
  • © Miguel Ferraz / JIK
  • © Miguel Ferraz / JIK
  • © Miguel Ferraz / JIK

Wie müssen Minderheitenrechten in heterogenen Gesellschaften ausgestaltet sein, um ein pluralistisches Miteinander zu ermöglichen? Wie lässt sich mit dem Spannungsfeld von Religions- und Meinungsfreiheit und antiislamischen Stereotypen umgehen? Unsere Planspiele bei der Jungen Islam Konferenz versuchen auf diese Fragen antwortet zu geben und leisten damit einen Beitrag zur Integrationsdebatte.

Seit 2014 ist planpolitik regemäßiger Partner der Jungen Islam Konferenz (JIK). Die JIK ist ein Projekt der forum k&b gmbh und der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und wird durch die Stiftung Mercator gefördert. In Anlehnung an die „große“ Deutschen Islamkonferenz, die auf Initiative der Bundesregierung 2006 ins Leben gerufen wurde, soll die JIK Jugendlichen und jungen Erwachsenen mit und ohne Migrationsgeschichte ein Forum zum Austausch über den Islam in Deutschland und gesellschaftliche Teilhabe bieten.

Die JIK gibt es mittlerweile in mehreren Bundesländern und unsere Planspiele sind zum festen Bestandteil des Programms geworden. Thematisch geht es dabei natürlich immer um die Rolle des Islams – oder breiter gefasst: der Religion – in Deutschland, allerdings in unterschiedlichen Facetten. Mal geht es um den umstrittenen Bau einer Moschee, mal um die (Grenzen der) Meinungsfreiheit bei einer Theateraufführung oder um die Ausgestaltung von Minderheitenrechten in einer Verfassungsgebenden Versammlung. Gemein haben alle Planspiele, dass interkulturelle Sensibilität und schwierige gesellschaftliche Fragen thematisiert werden.

Auch die hohe Politik hat das Potenzial der JIK längst erkannt. Ministerpräsident/innen, Bürgermeister/innen oder Landtagspräsident/innen diskutieren mit den Teilnehmenden die Ergebnisse der Planspiele und stellen ihre Häuser für die Veranstaltungen zur Verfügung. Der nette Nebeneffekt: Die Planspiele finden meistens vor repräsentativer Kulisse wie Landtagen oder Rathäusern statt. Und das ist nicht nur für die Teilnehmenden der JIK immer wieder eine besondere Erfahrung.

Fakten

Zielgruppe

Junge Menschen zwischen 17 und 25 mit und ohne Migrationsgeschichte

Zielsetzung
  • Vorurteile und Rassismus abbauen
  • Handlungsempfehlungen für die Politik entwickeln
  • Stärkung der offenen und vielfältigen Gesellschaft
Auftraggeber/in

Junge Islam Konferenz

Dauer Veranstaltung

1 Tag

Anzahl der Teilnehmenden

40

Ort

Berlin, Düsseldorf, Hamburg, Kiel

Sprache

Deutsch

Kompetenzen