Simulation game training in relation to minority rights and human rights

Everyone can “do” simulation games!

For eight years, planpolitik was a fixture during the annual fellowship program of international NGO “Humanity In Action”. Every year, 30 participants from all over the world developed simulation games on topics related to minority rights and human rights. Out of this arose a great collection of simulation games, some of which we now use ourselves.

After an introductory test game and the presentation of a checklist for the development of simulation games, the participants of this training seminar began developing their simulation game scenarios in small groups. Over the course of the week and under our guidance, they turned the scenarios into finished games. Many hurdles had to be taken to ensure a good plot developed and the groups of actors were well chosen. Of course, we are very familiar with these types of difficulties.

The intensive structuring work and need to pay attention to detail generated many interesting games, some of which can be downloaded for free at www.humaintyinaction.org – a number of them have already been used during numerous human rights training events across the world.

The global mix of participants made this simulation game seminar a particular pleasure. Since the groups fully developed their scenarios and role profiles, there weren’t just good ideas but immediately usable simulation games.

 

Facts + Figures

Target group

Young, interested and dedicated people from all over the world

Client(s)

Humanity in Action

Duration

Learning to develop and facilitate simulation games

Number of participants

20

Location(s)

Berlin

Language(s)

English

Competencies

Testimonials

  • For the participants of our international summer programmes, it is a real challenge to develop simulation games in small groups and to then test them in the larger group. The experts of planpolitik guide this process very professionally. As a final workshop to a four-week programme on human rights within immigration societies, the simulation game workshop is an ideal opportunity for the participants to apply what they have learned as well as to work towards concrete results.
    For Humanity In Action, Simon Raiser and Björn Warkalla guide the development of simulation games on human rights dilemmas with great pedagogic skills, sound background knowledge in political science, as well as with professionalism and humour. This collaboration is always an enriching experience to us, both, didactically and with regard to content.

    Antje Scheidler and Anne Stalfort (Humanity in Action/Germany)

Planspielfortbildung im Bereich Minderheiten- und Menschenrechte

Planspiele kann Jede und Jeder!

Über acht Jahre waren wir fester Bestandteil des jährlichen Fellowship Programs der internationalen NGO „Humanity in Action.“ Jeweils rund 30 Teilnehmende aus aller Welt entwickelten unter unserer Anleitung Planspiele zu Minderheiten- und Menschenrechtsthemen. Daraus ist eine sehr ansehnliche Sammlung an Planspielen entstanden, die z.T. auch von uns selbst durchgeführt werden.

Nach einem Probeplanspiel zum Kennenlernen der Methode und der Vorstellung einer Checkliste zur Entwicklung von Planspielen machten sich die Teilnehmenden in diesem Fortbildungsformat in kleineren Gruppen daran, ihre eigenen Planspielszenarien zu entwickeln und diese im Laufe einer Woche unter unserer Anleitung komplett auszuarbeiten. Dabei galt es im Laufe der Entwicklung immer wieder Schwierigkeiten bei der Entwicklung eines guten Plots und der Auswahl der beteiligten Akteursgruppen zu bewältigen. Das kennen wir aus unserer Arbeit natürlich gut.

Die intensive Arbeit an der Struktur und vielen Detailfragen hat inzwischen viele sehr interessante Spiele aus den Workshops hervorgebracht, die z.T. unter www.humanityinaction.org kostenlos heruntergeladen werden können und bereits weltweit in zahlreichen Bildungsveranstaltungen zu Menschenrechten eingesetzt worden sind.

Die Mischung der Teilnehmenden aus aller Welt machte diese Planspiel-Fortbildung besonders reizvoll. Da die Gruppen ihre Szenarien und Rollenprofile komplett ausarbeiteten, blieb es nicht nur bei einer guten Idee sondern es entstanden direkt einsetzbare Planspiele.

Fakten

Zielgruppe

Junge engagierte Menschen aus aller Welt

Auftraggeber/in

Humanity in Action

Dauer Veranstaltung

Planspiel entwickeln und durchführen lernen

Anzahl der Teilnehmenden

20

Ort

Berlin

Sprache

Englisch

Kompetenzen

Stimmen

  • Für die TeilnehmerInnen unserer internationalen Sommerseminare ist es eine echte Herausforderung, Planspiele in Kleingruppen selbst zu entwickeln und in der Großgruppe zu testen. Die Experten von planpolitik begleiten diesen Prozess stets professionell. Als Abschluss eines vierwöchigen Seminars zu Menschenrechten in der Einwanderungsgesellschaft ist die Planspielwerkstatt ein ideales Mittel, um Gelerntes anzuwenden und ein handfestes Ergebnis zu erarbeiten.
    Simon Raiser und Björn Warkalla begleiten die Entwicklung der Simulationsspiele von Humanity in Action zu menschenrechtlichen Dilemmas mit pädagogischem Geschick, politikwissenschaftlichem Fachwissen, Professionalität und Humor. Wir empfinden die Zusammenarbeit immer als sehr bereichernd – sowohl inhaltlich als auch didaktisch.

    Antje Scheidler und Anne Stalfort (Humanity in Action/Germany)