International workshop for the Friedrich Ebert Foundation

Shaping Globalisation!

How can we answer to the global challenges posed by climate change and the fight against poverty? Are there any alternatives to the UN negotiation marathon to tackle these challenges on an international level? These questions were addressed by 25 dedicated young professionals from 17 different countries during a week-long workshop in October 2015! The programme consisted of a rather varied combination of online preparation, discussions with experts, a simulation game, excursions, and an ideas workshop. And there was still time enough for building global networks, for lively exchange, and last not least – for partying together!

In 2010 and 2012 we developed week-long programmes on behalf of the Friedrich Ebert Foundation (FES): using a wide range of interactive methods we aimed at highlighting very different aspects of the global challenges posed by climate change and the fight against poverty. In October 2015 the third edition of the workshop finally took place, and this time with three weeks of online preparation.

FES chose the participants via its international offices – dedicated, knowledgeable people who were all keen on a lively debate. From Indonesia to Peru, from Poland to Zimbabwe – this colourful mix of people suited the topic and had enormously enriching effect on the discussions: a meeting of extremely different perspectives. Consensus was rare, except on one thing: it is high time that something is finally done to combat climate change of the global South.

For planpolitik it was a unique opportunity to use almost its entire portfolio: The participants started with a three-week-long online phase during which they took on the roles of delegates of selected states. Their job was to prepare the coming climate negotiations using our online simulation platform. In Berlin they then became a head of state or a minister for a day to simulate the international climate negotiations. Thereafter we facilitated an ideas lab in which participants developed ideas for an alternative climate policy. In between we had lively talks and discussions with experts from politics and civil society as well as excursions to destinations in Berlin which represent innovative and sustainable urban development in times of climate change.

During the ideas lab of 2015 our most recent software achievement – the conference app – did have its first appearance. The software makes it easy to feed in ideas online and have other participants comment on them.

After each workshop a selection of the ideas lab’s best proposals was published 2010; 2012; 2015 expected in December 2015). At the same time, the ideas continued to be discussed in the participants’ home countries. More than that, some of them were adapted locally and have been turned into practice in the meantime. With great pleasure we notice that the alumni network of the three programmes remains very active until today.

Facts + Figures

Target group

Young professionals from all over the world

Objectives
  • What are the main challenges posed by climate change and the fight against poverty?
  • What solutions could there be? Building a global network of activists...?
Client(s)

Friedrich Ebert Foundation, Bonn

Duration

7 days

Number of participants

30

Location(s)

Bonn (2010), Berlin (2012 and 2015)

Language(s)

English

Competencies

Testimonials

  • I never thought that a simulation game about climate change could be this fun and educational at the same time, the credit undoubtedly goes to planpolitik’s distinguished professionalism and preparation; two of the best trainers I ever encountered.

    Bashar Al-Khatib (Trainer from Jordan)

In the media

Internationaler Workshop für die Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung

Shaping Globalisation!

  • © FES / Danny Prusseit
  • © FES / Danny Prusseit
  • © FES / Danny Prusseit
  • © FES / Danny Prusseit
  • © FES / Danny Prusseit

Welche Antworten lassen sich auf die globalen Herausforderungen Klimawandel und Armutsbekämpfung finden? Gibt es eine Alternative zum UN-Verhandlungsmarathon zur Bearbeitung dieser Themen auf internationaler Ebene? Diesen Fragen stellten sich in einem einwöchigen Workshop im Oktober 2015 25 engagierte Young Professionals aus 17 unterschiedlichen Ländern! Das Programm bestand aus einer abwechslungsreichen Kombination aus Online-Vorbereitung, Expert/innen-Gesprächen, Planspiel, Exkursionen und einer Ideenwerkstatt zur Zukunft der Klimapolitik. Und doch gab es nebenher genug Zeit, um auch globale Netzwerke zu knüpfen, sich über vielfältige Erfahrungen auszutauschen und gemeinsam zu feiern.

Im Auftrag der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung (FES) entwickelten wir im Jahr 2010 und erneut im Herbst 2012 ein jeweils einwöchiges Programm, das die globalen Herausforderungen Klimawandel und Armutsbekämpfung von sehr unterschiedlichen Seiten und mittels unterschiedlicher interaktiver Methoden beleuchtete. Im Herbst 2015 kam es endlich zur dritten Auflage, dieses Mal mit einer dreiwöchigen Onlinevorbereitungsphase.

Die Teilnehmenden wurden von den Auslandsbüros der FES ausgewählt, und es kamen entsprechend engagierte, kenntnisreiche und diskutierfreudige Personen. Von Indonesien bis Peru, von Polen bis Simbabwe – die bunte Mischung an Menschen war dem Thema angemessen und bereicherte die Diskussionen enorm, da immer wieder sehr unterschiedliche Perspektiven aufeinandertrafen. Selten waren sich alle einig, außer in einem: Es ist höchste Zeit, endlich etwas gegen den Klimawandel zu unternehmen.

Für planpolitik ist dieses Projekt eine einzigartige Möglichkeit, fast unser gesamtes Portfolio zum Einsatz zu bringen: Die Teilnehmenden begannen mit einer dreiwöchigen Onlinephase, in der sie die Rollen von Delegierten ausgewählter Staaten übernehmen. Ihre Aufgabe war es, auf unserer Online-Planspielplattform die anschließenden Verhandlungen vorzubereiten. Diese internationalen Klimaverhandlungen führten sie dann als Staatschef/in oder Minister/in in Berlin. Anschließend veranstalteten wir ein Ideenlabor zur Entwicklung von Alternativen für eine nachhaltigere Klimapolitik. Dazwischen gab es immer wieder sehr anregende Gespräche und Diskussionen mit Experten/innen aus Politik und Zivilgesellschaft, sowie Exkursionen zu Zielen in der Stadt, die für innovative und nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung in Zeiten des Klimawandels stehen.

Bei der jüngsten Auflage des Ideenlabors kam erstmalig unsere “Conference App” zum Einsatz. Mit Hilfe der Software können Ideen online eingespeist und von anderen Teilnehmenden kommentiert werden. Eine Auswahl der besten Vorschläge aus den Ideenwerkstätten wurden in den begleitenden Publikationen (2010; 2012; 2015 kommt voraussichtlich im Dezember 2015) veröffentlicht. Zugleich wurden die Ideen in den Heimatländern der Teilnehmenden weiter diskutiert, überarbeitet und zum Teil sehr konkret in Tat umgesetzt. Zu unserer großen Freude ist das globale Netzwerk der Alumni der drei Programme nach wie vor sehr aktiv.

Fakten

Zielgruppe

Young Professionals aus aller Welt

Zielsetzung
  • Was sind die wichtigsten Herausforderungen im Zusammenhang mit Klimawandel und Armutsbekämpfung?
  • Was könnten mögliche Lösungsansätze sein Ein globales Netzwerk an Aktivisten aufbauen?
Auftraggeber/in

Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung e.V.

Dauer Veranstaltung

7 Tage

Anzahl der Teilnehmenden

30

Ort

Bonn (2010), Berlin (2012 und 2015)

Sprache

Englisch

Kompetenzen

Stimmen

  • Ich hätte nie gedacht, dass ein Planspiel zum Thema Klimawandel so viel Spaß machen und gleichzeitig so lehrreich sein kann. Dass es so war, ist einzig und allein der besonderen Professionalität und guten Vorbereitung von Seiten planpolitiks zu verdanken – Simon Raiser und Björn Warkalla sind zwei der besten Seminarleiter, die ich je kennen gelernt habe.

    Bashar Al-Khatib (Trainer aus Jordanien)

In den Medien