Open one-day event for young and old

Social divide or social cohesion?

Hardly any political speech on society fails to note that cohesion is waning and the different groups in society are drifting apart. Why is that so? Is this diagnosis correct when generalised to this extent? This interactive format begins with a discussion of the status quo. Subsequently, new perspectives are developed and discussed with politicians and civil society representatives.

The day consists a variety of activating methods, group discussions, input from our trainers and a final discussion round with decision makers from politics and society. Almost anyone can take part, making for a broad spectrum indeed: students, experts from the world of science, professionals, unemployed persons and pensioners. The aim of the event is to translate this heterogeneity into lively exchange, discussion and networking. This requires high levels of flexibility, empathy and alertness from our trainers.

The participants begin by addressing the question of what social division actually is and which forms of it they or their friends and acquaintances have experienced. Following that discussion, some theses on the topic of social division are presented and everybody is asked to express their take on them. Familiarised with the topic and the variety of experiences in the room, the participants now receive some input: definitions are introduced, broad categories of social division are examined and trends in social developments considered. Building on this, participants form groups according to their interests and address questions of promoting and securing social cohesion. This work serves as a direct preparation for the following moderated discussion with politicians and civil society representatives. Based on experience, this discussion rarely yields generalised statements but usually addresses concrete and often regionally relevant problems and produces demands directed at local politics.

Facts + Figures

Target group

Open to anybody who is interested

Objectives
  • Knowledge on the social division
  • Exchange with others
  • Developing alternatives
Client(s)

Friedrich Ebert Foundation Hessen, Hamburg

Duration

1 day

Number of participants

20-45

Location(s)

various, e.g. Darmstadt, Kassel, Hamburg, Bremen

Language(s)

German

Competencies

Offene Tagesveranstaltungen für Jung und Alt

Soziale Spaltung oder gesellschaftlicher Zusammenhalt?

In keiner politischen Rede zur Gesellschaft darf sie fehlen: Die Feststellung, dass der Zusammenhalt schwindet, die Gesellschaft auseinanderdriftet. Warum ist das so? Stimmt die Diagnose so allgemein formuliert? Und welche Bereiche sind besonders betroffen? Bei diesem interaktiven Format folgen auf die Erörterung des Status quo die Entwicklung neuer Perspektiven und ein Austausch mit ausgewählten Vertreter/innen aus Politik und Zivilgesellschaft.

Der Tag besteht aus einer Vielfalt von aktivierenden Methoden, Gruppendiskussionen, Input durch unsere Trainer/innen und einer abschließenden Diskussionsrunde mit Entscheidungsträger/innen aus Politik und Gesellschaft. Teilnehmen kann (fast) jeder, und so reicht das Spektrum von Studierenden über Fachpersonen aus der Wissenschaft, Berufstätigen und Arbeitslosen bis hin zu interessierten Senior/innen. Ziel ist es, die Veranstaltung so zu gestalten, dass sich diese Heterogenität in regen Austausch, Diskussion und Vernetzung übersetzt. Dazu ist ein hohes Maß an Flexibilität, Empathie und Aufmerksamkeit von Seiten unserer Trainer/innen nötig.

Inhaltlich setzen sich die Anwesenden zunächst mit der Frage auseinander, was soziale Spaltung ist und welche Formen sie selbst oder in ihrem Bekanntenkreis erlebt haben. Es folgen Thesen rund um das Thema soziale Spaltung, zu denen alle aufgerufen sind Position zu beziehen. Auf diese Weise ans Thema herangeführt und mit den unterschiedlichen Erfahrungen im Raum vertraut, folgt ein fachlicher Input: Definitionen werden vorgestellt, Großkategorien sozialer Spaltung betrachtet und Hinweise auf Trends gesellschaftlicher Entwicklungen gegeben. Darauf aufbauend setzen sich die Teilnehmenden je nach Interesse in Gruppen mit der Frage nach der Förderung und Sicherung von gesellschaftlichem Zusammenhalt auseinander. Diese Arbeit dient als direkte Vorbereitung für die anschließende, moderierte Diskussion mit Vertreter/innen aus Politik und Zivilgesellschaft, in der aller Erfahrung nach selten Gemeinplätze verbreitet, sondern im Gegenteil konkrete und oft regional relevante Problemlagen diskutiert und Forderungen an die Lokalpolitik formuliert werden.

Fakten

Zielgruppe

Offen für Interessierte

Zielsetzung
  • Wissen zum Thema soziale Spaltung
  • Austausch mit anderen
  • Entwicklung von Alternativen
Auftraggeber/in

Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung e.V. Hessen, Hamburg

Dauer Veranstaltung

1 Tag

Anzahl der Teilnehmenden

20-45

Ort

diverse, z.B. Darmstadt, Kassel, Hamburg, Bremen

Sprache

Deutsch

Kompetenzen