Simulation game on crisis management in a global drinks corporation

“Sparkle up your life”, or: Pesticides in Spirit Up drinks?

Traces of pesticides have been found in samples of drinks produced by a multinational corporation. They stem from production plants in developing countries, but Spirit Up makes most of its revenue in rich industrial states in which even the tiniest suspicion of health risks will send the company’s shares crashing. Company management is meeting to consult on a strategy towards the media and the supervisory board. Meanwhile, NGOs are threatening further revelations.

As part of “Zukunftsbrücke – Chinese-German Young Professionals Campus” by the Mercator Program Center for International Affairs in Berlin, 30 young professionals from Germany and China gathered for a week of exchange on the social dimension of sustainable growth. planpolitik developed a simulation game especially for this programme, addressing the subject of corporate responsibility in a globalised economy. We chose a neutral fictional setting for the game, not least to avoid participants “preaching” to one another or playing the “blame game.”

The simulation game was an intense experience for the participants, after all, the managers of Spirit Up found themselves in a very uncomfortable position, stuck between a rock and a hard place, or, as it were, between the supervisory board on one hand and plenty of pressure from NOGs and the general public on the other. The difficulties of effective crisis management became very clear when the company’s rather reticent information policy was challenged by ever-new revelations from NGOs. At the end, the supervisory board pulled the emergency brake and sacked the management.

The conclusion of the event was marked by a very interesting discussion among the participants, in which they debated the responsibility of multinational companies as well as the differences between German and Chinese society regarding to the role of the media and the general public. One conclusion was that these days, companies in China need to worry about public pressure, too.

Facts + Figures

Target group

Young Professionals from Germany and China

Objectives
  • Train crisis management strategies
  • Initiate discussion about the responsibility of multinational companies
Client(s)

Mercator Program Center for International Affairs (MPC)

Duration

6 h

Number of participants

30

Location(s)

Berlin

Language(s)

English

Competencies

Testimonials

  • Our event with the competent and friendly team of planpolitik as part of the ”Future bridge – Chinese-German Young Professional Campus” 2013 in Berlin was a great success. planpolitik lead the young professionals from Germany and China through the game with great sensitivity and humour, providing the participants with an opportunity to examine German-Chinese intercultural cooperation and problem solving in a creative and playful way. Highly recommended!

    Matthias Kaufmann | Senior Program Manager, Mercator Program Center for International Affairs (MPC) GmbH

Planspiel zum Krisenmanagement in einem globalen Getränkekonzern

“Sparkle up your life”, oder: Pestizide in Spirit Up-Getränken?

In Getränkeproben eines bekannten multinationalen Getränkeherstellers wurden Pestizidrückstände gefunden. Betroffen sind die Produktionsanlagen in einem Entwicklungsland. Doch das meiste Geld verdient Spirit Up in den reichen Industrieländern, und da lässt schon der kleinste Verdacht über Gesundheitsgefährdungen den Aktienkurs abstürzen. Das Management kommt zusammen, um über die Strategie gegenüber Medien und Aufsichtsrat zu beraten, während NGOs mit weiteren Enthüllungen drohen.

30 Young Professionals aus Deutschland und China trafen im Rahmen der „Zukunftsbrücke – Chinese-German Young Professionals Campus“ des Mercator Program Center for International Affairs (MPC) in Berlin zusammen, um sich für eine gute Woche über die soziale Dimension nachhaltigen Wachstums auszutauschen.

Speziell für dieses Programm entwickelten wir ein Planspiel, das die Frage unternehmerischer Verantwortung in einer globalisierten Wirtschaft thematisiert. Wir wählten ein neutrales, fiktives Setting für das Planspiel, auch um gegenseitiges Belehren oder Schuldzuweisungen zu vermeiden.

Für die Teilnehmenden war das Planspiel eine intensive Erfahrung: So fand sich das Spirit Up-Management in einer sehr unkomfortablen Lage zwischen dem Aufsichtsrat auf der einen und dem Druck von NGOs und Öffentlichkeit auf der anderen Seite wieder. Die Schwierigkeiten effektiven Krisenmanagements wurden sehr deutlich, als die zurückhaltende Informationspolitik des Konzerns im Spiel durch immer neue Enthüllungen der NGOs herausgefordert wurde. Am Ende zog der Aufsichtsrat die Notbremse und entmachtete die Unternehmensleitung.

Den Abschluss bildete eine sehr spannende Diskussion unter den Teilnehmenden, in der es neben der Verantwortung multinationaler Unternehmen auch um die Unterschiede zwischen der deutschen und der chinesischen Gesellschaft in Bezug auf die Rolle der Medien und der Öffentlichkeit ging. Ein Fazit war, dass auch in China die Zeiten vorbei sind, in denen Unternehmen den öffentlichen Druck nicht zu fürchten haben.

Fakten

Zielgruppe

Young Professionals aus Deutschland und China

Zielsetzung
  • Krisenmanagementstrategien trainieren
  • Inhaltliche Diskussion über die Verantwortung multinationaler Unternehmen anstoßen
Auftraggeber/in

Mercator Program Center for International Affairs (MPC)

Dauer Veranstaltung

6 h

Anzahl der Teilnehmenden

30

Ort

Berlin

Sprache

Englisch

Kompetenzen

Stimmen

  • Unsere Veranstaltung mit dem kompetenten und sympathischen Team von planpolitik im Kontext der "Zukunftsbrücke- Chinese-German Young Professional Campus" 2013 in Berlin war ein voller Erfolg. Das sensibel und humorvoll angeleitete Planspiel bot den teilnehmenden jungen Führungskräften aus Deutschland und China die Gelegenheit, sich kreativ und spielerisch mit interkultureller Zusammenarbeit und Problemlösung im deutsch-chinesischen Kontext auseinander zu setzen. Äußerst empfehlenswert!

    Matthias Kaufmann | Senior Program Manager, Mercator Program Center for International Affairs (MPC) GmbH