Crisis management training at the University of Zurich

Donations scandal at an NGO – the public are outraged!

Imaging you are the CEO of your country’s most important aid organisation and you are confronted overnight with allegations that your organisation has embezzled donation money on a large scale! The next morning, you are sitting down with the other members of the crisis team. You have 90 minutes to make a correct assessment of the crisis, take the right measures and inform the public of them. Crisis management may not be an everyday activity, but one can certainly prepare for it. That is what the crisis management training at the University of Zurich is for.

How does an organisation or a company react to rumours or concrete allegations from the press? A crisis team must gather at very short notice in order to consult on how to deal with the crisis, both internally and externally. Meanwhile, the external actors represent the “public ear”, demanding to know how much is in these rumours. Representatives of the media are reporting regularly on the developments.

This short exercise serves as an interactive point of entry into a unit on crisis management and crisis communication. There are different variations of the simulation game: One version deals with the embezzlement of donated funds in the area of humanitarian aid, another is set among allegations of corruption in a communal building authority. A more complex variant is the case of a multinational drinks manufacturer faced with allegations of selling a contaminated product. By now, we have used these short simulation games in numerous training seminars; however, Zurich remains the only place where the crisis is discussed in Swiss German (the Swiss dialect is largely unintelligible to most Germans)…

 

Facts + Figures

Target group

Employees of NGOs in Switzerland

Objectives
  • What to look out for in crisis management?
  • What are common mistakes?
  • What is the best way to deal with the public?
Client(s)

University of Zurich

Duration

4 h

Number of participants

20

Location(s)

Zurich/Switzerland

Language(s)

German, Swiss German

Competencies

Testimonials

  • Where to find custom-made simulation games on a media crisis? planpolitik found creative solutions for NGOs and state authorities finding themselves in the crossfire of the media. The participants from these organisations and administrative units were very enthusiastic! The co-operations with planpolitik were highlights in the organisation of the training courses.

    Dr. Erik Jentges, University of Zürich IPMZ – Institute for Mass Communication and Media Research/Training

Krisenmanagement-Training an der Universität Zürich

Spendenskandal in einer NGO – die Öffentlichkeit ist empört!

  • © Sebastian Pfütze

Stellen Sie sich vor, Sie sind Geschäftsführer/in der wichtigsten Hilfsorganisation im Land und werden über Nacht mit dem Vorwurf konfrontiert, Ihre Organisation habe in großem Stil Spendengelder veruntreut! Am nächsten Morgen sitzen Sie im Krisenteam zusammen und müssen innerhalb von 90 Minuten die Krise richtig einschätzen, die passenden Maßnahmen ergreifen und die Öffentlichkeit darüber informieren. Zwar ist Krisenmanagement keine alltägliche Aufgabe, man kann sich aber auf solche Fälle vorbereiten. Genau dazu dient dieses Krisenmanagement-Training an der Universität Zürich.

Wie reagiert eine Organisation oder ein Unternehmen auf Gerüchte oder auch gezielte Vorwürfe aus der Presse? Innerhalb kürzester Zeit muss ein Krisenteam zusammengestellt werden, das darüber berät, wie mit der Krise intern wie extern umgegangen werden soll, während die externen Akteure das „Ohr“ der Öffentlichkeit darstellen, die wissen will, was es mit den Gerüchten auf sich hat. Medienvertreter/innen berichten regelmäßig über die Entwicklungen.

Diese kurze Übung dient als interaktiver Einstieg für eine Einheit zu Krisenmanagement und -kommunikation, wobei das Planspiel in mehreren Varianten existiert: In einer Version geht es um die Veruntreuung von Spendengeldern im Bereich der humanitären Hilfe, in einer zweiten um Korruptionsvorwürfe in einem kommunalen Bauamt. Eine komplexere Variante behandelt den Fall eines multinationalen Getränkeherstellers, der mit Anschuldigungen über Verunreinigungen seiner Produkte konfrontiert wird. Mittlerweile haben wir diese Kurzplanspiele in zahlreichen Trainings eingesetzt; allerdings wurde die Krise nur in Zürich jeweils auf Schweizerdeutsch bearbeitet…

Fakten

Zielgruppe

Mitarbeiter/innen von NGOs aus der Schweiz

Zielsetzung
  • Was ist bei Krisenmanagement zu beachten?
  • Welche Fehler kann man machen?
  • Was ist der richtige Umgang mit der Öffentlichkeit?
Auftraggeber/in

Universität Zürich

Dauer Veranstaltung

4 h

Anzahl der Teilnehmenden

20

Ort

Zürich/Schweiz

Sprache

Deutsch, Schweizerdeutsch

Kompetenzen

Stimmen

  • Wo bekommt man maßgeschneiderte Planspiele, um eine Medienkrise zu simulieren? planpolitik fand kreative Lösungen für NGOs und auch Behörden im Kreuzfeuer der Medien. Die Teilnehmer aus diesen Organisationen und Verwaltungseinheiten waren begeistert! Die Kooperationen mit planpolitik waren Highlights in der Organisation der Weiterbildungskurse.

    Dr. Erik Jentges, Universität Zürich IPMZ – Institut für Publizistikwissenschaft und Medienforschung/Weiterbildung