Simulation games with Chinese Masters students

Summer School at Fudan University Shanghai

This series began before planpolitik even existed: at the invitation of the the Freie Universität Berlin (FU), we have been teaching as part of a summer school at Fudan University Shanghai since 2004. In cooperation with the FU, we have since conducted similar seminars in Hanoi, Phnom Penh, Istanbul, Athens, Damascus, Amman and Teheran.

Over the years, we have played a large variety of different simulation games with the Chinese Master students, on world trade negotiations, the role of taboos in politics or a conflict over a fictional group of islands.
Before our first trip to Shanghai, we were warned that it was going to be close to impossible to play a simulation game with Chinese students since teaching at Chinese universities is very “old-school” and neither staff nor student would be ready for interactive methods. Luckily, we tried anyhow, and contrary to predictions, the students from different Chinese provinces were very enthusiastic from the word go. The simulation game became a regular part of the Shanghai summer school as well as being taken on into the entire Seasonal School programme at the Center for Global Politics at FU. By today, we have travelled to Hanoi (Vietnam), Phnom Penh (Cambodia), Istanbul (Turkey), Damascus (Syria), Amman (Jordan) and Teheran (Iran). Often, the two-week courses are attended by a few students from neighbouring countries as well as from Germany.
On many occasions, choosing the game’s topic was a sensitive matter. But through exchange with the programme directors we have always found a solution for addressing sensitive issues. This often meant developing a fictional simulation game. Had we played a realistic simulation game about the conflict surrounding the Spratly islands in the South China Sea, the discussions would have been dominated by people’s own opinions or the official line. A fictional scenario, however, is much easier to debate freely, and the projection onto the real world can take place in the evaluation phase. Our experience has shown us that this often makes for more profound discussions, even on topics otherwise laden with extreme views or taboos.
The seasonal schools all over the world are always an exciting experience. When and where else would we be given the opportunity to discuss international human rights in with Iranian students or talk with Jordanians about the refugee situation in their region? And, as an added bonus, we are given the opportunity to discover the world – thanks to the Center for Global Politics…

Facts + Figures

Target group

Master students

Objectives
  • Various, such as
  • - Understanding the mechanisms and driving forces of international politics
  • - Understanding interests and positions in current inter-state and domestic conflicts and discuss options for solutions
  • - Train negotiation and communication skills
Client(s)

Center for Global Politics, Freie Universität Berlin

Duration

1-2 days

Number of participants

30

Location(s)

Shanghai (China)

Language(s)

English

Competencies

Testimonials

  • Many years of cooperation have shown me that planpolitik are innovative, interculturally competent and reliable partners. During seasonal schools in China, Turkey, Iran, Vietnam and elsewhere, our international students benefit from the simulation games and interactive methods offered by planpolitik. Their way of working is highly flexible, yet always completely professional. I am looking forward to continued cooperation.

    Prof. Dr. Klaus Segbers (Center for Global Politics, Freie Universität Berlin)

Planspiele mit chinesischen Masterstudierenden

Summer School an der Fudan Universität Shanghai

Diese Reihe begann schon, bevor es planpolitik überhaupt gab: Auf Einladung der FU Berlin unterrichten wir seit 2004 jedes Jahr im Rahmen einer Summer School an der Fudan Universität Shanghai. Seitdem haben wir in Kooperation mit der FU ähnliche Seminare in Hanoi, Phnom Penh, Istanbul, Athen, Damaskus, Amman und Teheran durchgeführt.

Dabei haben wir mit den chinesischen Masterstudierenden inzwischen schon die unterschiedlichsten Planspiele gespielt, wie zu den Welthandelsverhandlungen, der Rolle von Tabus in der Politik oder dem Konflikt um eine fiktive Inselgruppe.

Vor der ersten Reise nach Shanghai wurden wir noch gewarnt: Mit chinesischen Studierenden ein Planspiel zu spielen sei nicht möglich, der Unterricht dort zu verschult und die Chines/innen nicht bereit für interaktive Methoden. Glücklicherweise haben wir es dennoch versucht und ganz entgegen der Vorhersagen waren die Studierenden aus verschiedensten Provinzen Chinas auf Anhieb begeistert. Das Planspiel wurde zum festen Bestandteil dieser Shanghaier Sommerschule, und später dann des gesamten Seasonal School-Programms des Center for Global Politics an der FU Berlin. Mittlerweile sind wir für das Programm nach Hanoi (Vietnam), Phnom Penh (Kambodscha), Istanbul (Türkei), Athen (Griechenland), Damaskus (Syrien), Amman (Jordanien) und Teheran (Iran) gereist. Häufig nehmen an den zweiwöchigen Kursen auch einige Studierende aus den jeweiligen Nachbarländern sowie aus Deutschland teil.

Schon oft erforderte die Wahl des Planspielthemas besondere Sensibilität. In Absprache mit den Programmverantwortlichen haben wir aber immer eine Lösung gefunden, um auch zu heiklen Themen wichtige Diskussionen anzustoßen. Häufig hat dies bedeutet, ein fiktives Planspiel zu entwickeln und zu spielen. So wären z.B. in einem realistischen Planspiel über den Konflikt um die Spratly-Inseln im Südchinesischen Meer die Diskussionen von den eigenen oder den offiziellen Meinungen geprägt gewesen. Über ein fiktives Szenario lässt sich hingegen gut streiten, und in der Auswertung erfolgt dann die Übertragung auf die reale Welt. Unsere Erfahrung bestätigt uns darin, dass auf diese Weise gehaltvollere Diskussionen auch zu Themen möglich sind, die sonst von starken Ansichten oder Denk- und Sprechverboten gekennzeichnet sind.

Darüber hinaus sind diese Seasonal Schools in aller Welt für uns immer eine sehr spannende Erfahrung. Wann bekommt man schon sonst die Gelegenheit, mit iranischen Studierenden über die Rolle der Menschenrechte in der internationalen Politik zu diskutieren oder mit Jordanier/innen über die Flüchtlingsproblematik in der Region? Und ganz nebenbei verdanken wir dem Center for Global Politics eine Möglichkeit, die Welt zu entdecken…

Fakten

Zielgruppe

Master-Studierende aus den jeweiligen Ländern

Zielsetzung
  • Diverse, z.B.
  • - Mechanismen und Triebkräfte internationaler Politik verstehen
  • - Interessen und Positionen in aktuellen zwischen- und innerstaatlichen Konflikten verstehen und Lösungsoptionen diskutieren
  • - Verhandlungs- und kommunikative Kompetenz trainieren
Auftraggeber/in

Center for Global Politics, Freie Universität Berlin

Dauer Veranstaltung

1-2 Tage

Anzahl der Teilnehmenden

30

Ort

Shanghai

Sprache

Englisch

Kompetenzen

Stimmen

  • Viele Jahre der Zusammenarbeit zeigen mir, dass planpolitik ein innovativer, interkulturell kompetenter und zuverlässiger Partner ist. Bei Seasonal Schools in China, der Türkei, im Iran, in Vietnam und an anderen Orten profitieren unsere internationalen Studierenden von den Simulationsspielen und interaktiven Methoden, die planpolitik dort mit uns anbietet. planpolitik arbeitet flexibel und doch professionell. Ich freue mich auf weitere Kooperationen.

    Prof. Dr. Klaus Segbers (Center for Global Politics, Freie Universität Berlin)