An intercultural workshop in Hamburg

No more pigeonholing!

How do I see myself? How do others see me? Who are “the others” in a culturally diverse society? This and other questions are at the heart of this one-day event and are discussed and answered with the participants. Exercises, discussions and a simulation game especially designed for the workshop provide an opportunity to take on a role and thereby a different perspective on the world. What characterises living in a modern-day Babel – a culturally diverse, even chaotic city?

Many have only recently begun to accept that Germany is an immigration country – perception is lagging behind reality by several decades. One of the consequences is that there is almost no culture of appreciation of the talents and characteristics contributed by migrants. It’s a different story in the US, and therefore the programme includes that perspective and aims to highlight differences between the US and Germany.

The workshop is aimed at all those who see a diverse society as either a challenge or a chance and would like to share their experiences with others. In order not to talk about people with a migration background, but rather with them and from their perspective, we ask: which talents remain unrecognised because they are not typically German virtues, values or strengths? How can these talents be experienced? And what about generalisations: do all Arab and Turkish people here in Germany have the same interests? Of course they don’t. Our mix of methods is designed to make these kinds of misunderstanding palpable.

Again and again, our young participants ask politicians and society in general: stop pigeonholing us! And don’t blindly support us just because we have a migration background. We are an integrative part of this diverse society!

Facts + Figures

Target group

Secondary school pupils aged 16 and above

Objectives
  • Bringing to the fore (hidden) talents in young people with migration backgrounds
  • Reflecting on discrimination in an intercultural context
Client(s)

Federal Agency for Political Education in cooperation with Amerikazentrum Hamburg

Project partner
Odette Enayati (freelance trainer for civic education)
Duration

1 day

Number of participants

15-25

Location(s)

Hamburg

Language(s)

German

Competencies

Testimonials

  • The simulation games are of a pleasantly non-pedagogic nature. They depict urban chaos and play on confusion. There are no prerequisites apart from the participants' own life experience. All the common terminologies that nobody wants to hear anymore, especially not young people, are left out. A creatively demanding experience that does not deal with interculturality but with personal experience and personal thinking – truly mind-expanding. The event becomes a one-day trip around the world which at the end sees the traveller land safely, but in a different place.

    Odette Enayati
    (Co-)trainer Intercultual workshop with planpolitik an the Amerikazentrum Hamburg

Interkultureller Workshop in Hamburg

Weg vom Schubladendenken!

Wie sehe ich mich? Wie sehen mich die anderen? Wer sind überhaupt „die anderen“ in einer kulturell vielfältigen Gesellschaft? Diese und weitere Fragen stehen im Mittelpunkt dieser Tagesveranstaltung und werden gemeinsam mit den Teilnehmenden beantwortet. Übungen, Diskussionen und ein für den Workshop neu konzipiertes Planspiel bieten die Gelegenheit, eine Rolle und damit eine andere Perspektive auf die Welt einzunehmen. Was ist eigentlich das Besondere daran, in einem Babel der Neuzeit zu leben – einer (kulturell) vielfältigen, ja chaotischen Großstadt?

Dass Deutschland ein Einwanderungsland ist, wird von vielen erst seit einigen Jahren akzeptiert – die Wahrnehmung hinkt der Wirklichkeit also einige Jahrzehnte hinterher. Eine der vielen Folgen ist, dass es kaum eine positive Anerkennungskultur der Talente und Eigenschaften gibt, die Migrant/innen mitbringen. Dies ist in den USA anders, und deswegen bezieht das Programm diese Perspektive mit ein und arbeitet Unterschiede zwischen den USA und Deutschland heraus.

Der Workshop richtet sich an alle, die eine vielfältige Gesellschaft als Herausforderung oder Chance sehen und ihre Erfahrungen miteinander teilen wollen. Um nicht wie so häufig über, sondern mit und aus der Perspektive von Menschen mit Migrationshintergrund zu sprechen, fragen wir uns gemeinsam: Welche Talente gibt es hier, die vielleicht gar nicht wahrgenommen werden, weil sie nicht zu den traditionellen deutschen Tugenden oder Stärken zählen? Wie kann es gelingen, diese Talente als Bereicherung erfahrbar zu machen? Und wie ist das mit der Verallgemeinerungsbrille: Haben alle arabisch- oder türkischstämmigen Menschen hier in Deutschland dieselben Interessen? Natürlich nicht. Diese und andere Missverständnisse sollen mit Hilfe eines Methodenmix erfahrbar gemacht werden.

Ein immer wiederkehrender Wunsch der jugendlichen Teilnehmenden an die Politik und die Gesellschaft: Hört mit eurem Schubladendenken auf! Und fördert uns nicht, nur weil wir einen Migrationshintergrund haben. Wir sind integrativer Teil dieser vielfältigen Gesellschaft!

Fakten

Zielgruppe

Schüler und Schülerinnen der Sekundarstufe II mit und ohne Migrationshintergrund

Zielsetzung
  • (Verborgene) Talente bei Jugendlichen mit Migrationshintergrund fördern
  • Reflexion über Benachteiligung im interkulturellen Kontext
Auftraggeber/in

Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung in Kooperation mit dem Amerikazentrum Hamburg

Projektpartner/innen
Odette Enayati (freie Trainerin im Bereich pol. Bildung)
Dauer Veranstaltung

1 Tag

Anzahl der Teilnehmenden

15-25

Ort

Hamburg

Sprache

Deutsch

Kompetenzen

Stimmen

  • Die Planspiele kommen sympathisch unpädagogisch daher, entwerfen großstädtisches Chaos und spielen mit der Verwirrung, setzen dabei nichts voraus als die eigene Lebenswelt und kommen ganz ohne die gängigen Begrifflichkeiten aus, die sowieso kein Mensch/Jugendlicher mehr hören mag. Eine kreative Überforderung, die nicht Interkulturalität behandelt, sondern vielmehr die eigene Erfahrung und das eigene Denken, echt grenzerweiternd. So ist die Veranstaltung zu einer eintägigen Weltreise geworden, bei der man am Ende gut landet, aber eben woanders.

    Odette Enayati
    (Co-)Trainerin Interkultureller Workshop mit planpolitik und dem Amerikazentrum Hamburg