Simulation games for the International Labour Organisation (ILO)

How does lobbying in Brussels work?

On the ILO’s campus in Turin, the International Training Center offers training events for European social partners, i.e. unions and employers. Our job during these events is to convey to young members of the European employers’ associations how the representation of interests functions in Brussels as well as when and where to become active.

The ILO training campus is beautifully situated by the river Po on the former Expo site of 1961. By now, we have visited six times in order to explain to young staff of European employers’ associations how successful lobbying works. Furthermore, we convey the process of European law-making and the European social dialogue.

In 2012, we developed three short simulation games especially for this workshop. The games highlight different aspects and phases of the representation of interests. The first phase deals with the first part of the EU legislative procedure in which the European Commission develops a proposal for a new law. Five interest groups from both employers’ associations and unions as well as a fictional corporation are trying to influence the Commission. To do so, they must try to get appointments with employees at the relevant directorates-general, collect facts and arguments for presentation and to act convincingly. Two press groups are reporting live, putting their very own spin on things.

The second game is a sequel to the first: The Commission’s proposal is debated in the EU Parliament and in the Council of Ministers. The interest groups from both camps must now identify the relevant actors in the EP and the Council, pursue and put forward their interests and navigate through the complex institutional procedure.

The third simulation game simulates the social dialogue: here, social partners (unions and employers) are able to create European law in certain areas. But first, both sides must agree on their respective negotiating mandates. This means creating consensus among different national associations, different sectors of the economy as well as the European level. Not the easiest task…

Facts + Figures

Target group

Young staff of several European countries' employers' associations

Objectives
  • Understanding the basics of effective lobbying in Brussels
  • Putting various techniques of lobbying to the test
  • Becoming familiar with formal and informal aspects of the European legislative procedure
  • Handling the media and training to speak in front of a camera
Client(s)

International Training Centre at the International Labour Organisation (ITC-ILO)

Duration

Two modules of 1 and 0,5 days respectively

Number of participants

30

Location(s)

Turin/Italy

Language(s)

English

Competencies

Planspiele für die Internationale Arbeitsorganisation (ILO)

Wie funktioniert Lobbying in Brüssel?

Das International Training Center der ILO bietet auf ihrem Campus in Turin Trainings für die europäischen Sozialpartner/innen, also für Gewerkschaften und Arbeitgeber/innen, an. Bei diesen Veranstaltungen ist unser Auftrag, Nachwuchskräften der europäischen Arbeitgeberverbände nahe zu bringen, wie Interessenvertretung in Brüssel funktioniert und wann und an welcher Stelle sie am sinnvollsten ist.

Der Trainingscampus der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation (ILO) in Turin liegt wunderschön am Fluss Po auf dem ehemaligen Expo-Gelände von 1961. Sechsmal waren wir schon dort, um jungen Mitarbeitenden europäischer Arbeitgeberverbände zu erklären, wie europäische Gesetzgebung funktioniert und wie man in Brüssel effektiv Lobbyarbeit betreibt. Außerdem vermitteln wir, wie der europäische Sozialdialog funktioniert.

Speziell für diese Workshops entwickelten wir 2012 drei kurze Planspiele, die verschiedene Aspekte und Phasen der Interessenvertretung verdeutlichen. Das erste Planspiel behandelt den ersten Teil des EU-Gesetzgebungsverfahrens, in dem die Europäische Kommission einen Vorschlag für ein neues Gesetz erarbeitet. Fünf Interessenverbände aus dem Arbeitgeber/innen- und dem Gewerkschaftslager sowie ein Verbraucherverband und ein fiktives Großunternehmen versuchen, die Kommission in ihrem Sinne zu beeinflussen. Dazu gilt es, Termine bei den Mitarbeitenden der beiden mit dem Thema befassten Generaldirektionen der Kommission zu ergattern, Fakten und Argumente aufzubereiten und überzeugend aufzutreten. Zwei Pressegruppen berichten live und geben dem Thema ihren ganz eigenen Spin.

Das zweite Spiel ist die Fortsetzung des ersten: Der Vorschlag der Kommission wird im EU-Parlament und im Ministerrat beraten. Aufgabe für die Interessenverbände aus den beiden Lagern ist, die relevanten Akteure im EP und im Rat zu identifizieren, die eigenen Interessen voranzubringen und sich im komplexen institutionellen Verfahren zurechtzufinden.

Das dritte Planspiel simuliert den Europäischen Sozialdialog, in dem die Sozialpartner/innen (Gewerkschaften und Arbeitgeber) in bestimmten Bereichen europäisches Recht schaffen können. Zunächst aber müssen sich beide Seiten auf ihr jeweiliges Verhandlungsmandat einigen. Hier gilt es, die verschiedenen nationalen Mitgliedsverbände, die Wirtschaftssektoren und die europäische Ebene miteinander in Einklang zu bringen – keine ganz leichte Aufgabe…

Fakten

Zielgruppe

Nachwuchskräfte der Arbeitgeberverbände in verschiedenen europäischen Ländern

Zielsetzung
  • Grundlagen des effektiven Lobbyings in Brüssel verstehen
  • Techniken der Lobbyarbeit praktisch erproben
  • Formelle und informelle Aspekte des Europäischen Gesetzgebungsverfahrens kennenlernen
  • Umgang mit den Medien und Auftreten vor der Kamera trainieren
Auftraggeber/in

International Training Centre der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation (ITC-ILO)

Dauer Veranstaltung

1 bzw. 0,5 Tage

Anzahl der Teilnehmenden

30

Ort

Turin/Italien

Sprache

Englisch

Kompetenzen