Training seminar on simulation games as a method at Ruhr-Universität Bochum

How do I write my own simulation game?

This is our classic training seminar about questions such as: what is special about this method? What do I have to bear in mind when developing, organising and facilitating a simulation game? When is the use of the method actually called for and how can I integrate simulation games with traditional teaching methods? After two extremely productive days in Bochum we had five new ideas for simulation games at our hands – three of which have already been used since.

After the method of the simulation game had been introduced to the lecturers at Ruhr-Universität Bochum by means of two test games, the participants developed their own games on topics of their own choosing. One of the simulation games – on the topic of crisis management after an environmental disaster – was successfully tested at the end of the seminar. Such test runs are very important and informative as they quickly reveal structural errors in the game. Furthermore, the participants are immediately given the opportunity to have a go at being a game facilitator.

Three months after the seminar the participants had the opportunity to present their fully developed games to us during a personal consultation. We find this added session extremely useful as it enhances the original event’s sustainability. After all, a period of two days tends to produce rough drafts of games rather than the finished product. The important question of how to sensibly integrate the games into teaching is better assessed using a fully completed game concept. The successful use of three of five games within one semester speaks for itself.

 

Facts + Figures

Target group

Lecturers at Ruhr-Universität Bochum

Objectives
  • Being able to develop and facilitate your own simulation games
Client(s)

Humanity in Action

Duration

2 days

Number of participants

25

Location(s)

Bochum

Language(s)

German

Competencies

Fortbildung Methode Planspiel für Dozent/innen an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum

Wie schreibe ich mein eigenes Planspiel?

Unser Klassiker unter den Fortbildungen zu Fragen wie: Was ist das Besondere an dieser Methode? Was muss ich bei der Entwicklung, Organisation und Durchführung eines Planspiels bedenken? Wann macht der Einsatz dieser Methode überhaupt Sinn und wie kann ich Planspiele in die reguläre Lehre integrieren? Nach zwei ausgesprochen produktiven Tagen in Bochum standen bei dieser Fortbildung fünf neue Planspielideen – drei davon wurden bereits in der Lehre eingesetzt.

Nachdem die Planspielmethode den Dozent/innen an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum anhand von zwei Testspielen vorgestellt wurde, entwickelten die Teilnehmenden zu selbst gewählten Themen ihre eigenen Planspiele. Eines der Planspiele – zum Thema Krisenmanagement nach einer Umweltkatastrophe – wurde zum Ende der Fortbildung erfolgreich getestet. Ein solcher Testlauf ist sehr wichtig und aufschlussreich, werden hier doch schnell eventuelle Konstruktionsfehler im Planspiel deutlich. Außerdem bekommen die Teilnehmenden dadurch gleich die Gelegenheit, sich als Spielleiter/innen auszuprobieren.

Drei Monate nach der Fortbildung hatten die Teilnehmenden dann die Möglichkeit, uns ihre ausgearbeiteten Planspielkonzepte noch einmal in einem persönlichen Beratungsgespräch vorzustellen. Dieser Zusatztermin ist unseres Erachtens ausgesprochen sinnvoll, wird doch die Nachhaltigkeit der Fortbildung noch einmal deutlich erhöht. Denn nach zwei Tagen Fortbildung stehen i.d.R. eher Planspiel-Skizzen denn fertig ausgearbeitete Spiele. Insbesondere die für Dozent/innen an der Universität wichtige Frage, wie die Spiele sinnvoll in den Lehrkontext integriert werden können, lässt sich anhand eines fertigen Planspielkonzepts besser abschätzen. Der erfolgreiche Einsatz von drei der fünf Planspiele im Laufe des Semesters spricht für sich.

 

Fakten

Zielgruppe

Dozent/innen der Ruhr-Universität Bochum

Zielsetzung
  • Planspiele selbst entwickeln und durchführen können
Auftraggeber/in

Humanity in Action

Dauer Veranstaltung

2 Tage

Anzahl der Teilnehmenden

25

Ort

Bochum

Sprache

Deutsch

Kompetenzen