Four-day training seminar for international students in Lower Saxony

Strengthen civil society, stand up to the government!

Standing up to governing politicians – how can we actually do that? And not just be naysayers, but get involved in constructive ways in order to achieve what we want? Over the decades, active involvement in civil society has grown in Germany, but in many countries it is not a given. This training seminar highlights possible forms of engagement as well as hurdles and objectives.

Seminars such as this competence seminar are made for reaching deep into planpolitik’s bag of methods. The participants from seven different countries approached the topic “active involvement in civil society” from the starting point of their own backgrounds: What does this mean in my home country? How is the situation in Western democracies?

Through positioning games, scenario work (“what would you do?”) and a simulation game focussing on the influence of lobbying groups, the abstract term “civil society” came to life. This was also helped by additional conversations with actors from said active civil society and from regional politics.

Since civil society does not just take place in the streets, one section of the seminar dealt with new media. During an ideas workshop, the students drafted possibilities of a more active civil society in their home countries and then discussed them with representatives from politics, church and society.

 

Facts + Figures

Target group

International students

Objectives
  • Skills
  • Knowledge about different approaches in civil society
  • Get to know best practice approaches
  • Discussion with affected people
Client(s)

STUBE and KED (in German that is: Studienbegleitprogramm für ausländische Studierende an niedersächsischen Hochschulen + Kirchlicher Entwicklungsdienst der Evangelisch-lutherischen Landeskirchen in Braunschweig und Hannover)

Duration

4 days

Number of participants

10

Location(s)

Bad Zwischenahn

Language(s)

German

Competencies

Testimonials

  • To me the best way to learn is when I am having fun. This is exactly what I experienced during this simulation game. Since then, I think that it would be useful to always approach complicated issues and questions like a game.

    Bat-Orgil Dash (Student from Mongolia)

Viertägiges Training für internationale Studierende in Niedersachsen

Zivilgesellschaft stärken, Regierungen Paroli bieten!

Den regierenden Politikern Kontra geben, wie geht das eigentlich? Und dabei möglichst nicht nur Neinsager/in sein, sondern sich konstruktiv beteiligen, um das zu erreichen, was man möchte. Zivilgesellschaftliches Engagement ist in Deutschland über die Jahrzehnte gewachsen, aber in vielen Ländern alles andere als ein Selbstläufer. Welche Formen, Hürden und Ziele es geben kann, greift dieses Trainingsseminar auf.

Seminare wie dieses Kompetenzseminar sind wie gemacht dafür, tief in planpolitiks Methodenkoffer zu greifen. Dem Thema zivilgesellschaftliches Engagement näherten sich die Teilnehmenden aus sieben unterschiedlichen Ländern zunächst von ihrem eigenen Hintergrund aus: Was versteht man darunter in meinem Herkunftsland? Wie sieht es in westlichen Demokratien aus?

Über Positionierungsspiele, szenische Arbeit (Stichwort: Was würdet ihr tun?) und ein Planspiel mit Fokus auf Einflüsse von Lobbygruppen wurde der abstrakte Begriff Zivilgesellschaft mit Leben gefüllt. Dabei halfen zusätzlich Gesprächspartner/innen aus eben jener aktiven Gesellschaft und aus der (Landes)politik.

Da Zivilgesellschaft nicht nur auf der Straße stattfindet, widmete sich ein Programmpunkt auch der Rolle der Neuen Medien. In einer Ideenwerkstatt skizzierten die Studierenden schließlich Möglichkeiten einer aktiveren Zivilgesellschaft in ihren Herkunftsländern, um sie dann mit Vertreter/innen aus Politik, Kirche und Gesellschaft zu diskutieren.

Fakten

Zielgruppe

Internationale Studierende

Zielsetzung
  • Kompetenzen
  • Wissen über zivilgesellschaftliche Ansätze
  • Best practice-Ansätze kennenlernen
  • Diskussion mit Betroffenen
Auftraggeber/in

Studienbegleitprogramm für ausländische Studierende an niedersächsischen Hochschulen + Kirchlicher Entwicklungsdienst der Evangelisch-lutherischen Landeskirchen in Braunschweig und Hannover (kurz: Stube und KED)

Dauer Veranstaltung

4 Tage

Anzahl der Teilnehmenden

10

Ort

Bad Zwischenahn

Sprache

Deutsch

Kompetenzen

Stimmen

  • Für mich ist der beste Weg zum Lernen, Spaß daran zu haben. Das habe ich bei diesem Planspiel erlebt. Seitdem denke ich, dass man während des Lernens immer versuchen sollte, komplizierte Sachverhalte als Spiel zu betrachten.

    Bat-Orgil Dash (Student aus der Mongolei)