Ideas labs at the European Youth Event in Strasbourg

3.750 ideas for a better Europe

What do young Europeans think regarding current political and social issues? Where do they see an acute need to act because the status quo has become unacceptable or unbearable? What are their ideas and visions? These questions were at the heart of the ideas labs that planpolitik developed on commission from the European Parliament and then conducted first online, then on-site at the European Youth Event (EYE). After its premiere in May 2014, the EYE rerun in May 2016 saw the application of our very own ConferenceApp software.

Every other year thousands of young people from all over Europe gather in Strasbourg at the invitation of the European Parliament. During the European Youth Event (EYE), they spend time thinking about a better Europe as well as celebrating our continent’s diversity. Parts of the extensive EYE programme are 10 ideas labs – developed and facilitated by planpolitik.

Based on the concept of the future workshop, each lab consists of a criticism phase, a utopia phase and a realisation phase. To allow all EYE participants to take part, the criticism phase takes place online before the actual event in Strasbourg. Using an online platform designed by planpolitik, the participants can to post critical comments in English, German and French as well as rate the relevance of other contributions. Small games invite the visitors to view critical aspects of current policies. In the week before the EYE the posts are clustered according their popularity and then used as the basis for the following two phases that take place on-site in the European Parliament in Strasbourg.

And at EYE itself it is ACTION time: Within two days, a total of 10 ideas labs take place, lasting three hours each and boasting up to 130 participants. The planpolitik team is busy from morning until night, witnessing the young people’s potential come to fruition. At the beginning of every lab, the participants need to take a step back from the collected criticism and try to think positively, optimistically and be unafraid to express utopian ideas. Small groups are then formed in which visions are developed and discussed and where the best ideas are identified. At the very end we have one last highlight: Using planpolitik’s ConferenceApp on her or his Smartphone or tablet, each participant vote for her or his personal five favourite ideas. The 10 ideas with the most votes are then presented to a high-ranking expert from the European Parliament. It’s obvious that the MEPs should know about the thoughts and ideas of European youth as well, and therefore rapporteurs inform them about the most valuable contributions after the EYE is over.

Facts + Figures

Target group

Young people from all EU states, taking part in the European Youth Event 2014

Objectives
  • Development of new ideas
  • Exchange with people from other European countries
Client(s)

European Parliament

Objectives

Designing, developing and facilitating 10 ideas labs for the European Youth Event (EYE) complete with preliminary online phase

Project lifetime

February 2014-May 2014; November 2014-June 2016

Duration

2 days

Number of participants

750-1000

Location(s)

Straßburg

Language(s)

English, German, French

Competencies

In the media

Ideenlabore beim European Youth Event in Straßburg

3.750 Ideen für ein besseres Europa

Was bewegt junge Europäerinnen und Europäer, wenn es um aktuelle europäische und gesellschaftliche Themen geht? Wo sehen sie akuten Handlungsbedarf, weil der Status quo untragbar oder unerträglich ist? Welche Ideen und Visionen schlummern in ihnen? Diese Fragen standen im Mittelpunkt der Ideenlabore, die planpolitik im Auftrag des Europäischen Parlaments on- und dann offline beim European Youth Event (EYE) durchführte. Nach der Premiere im Mai 2014 kam es im Mai 2016 zur Neuauflage des Formats, dieses Mal erweitert um dem Einsatz unserer hauseigenen ConferenceApp!

Alle zwei Jahre im Mai kommen mehrere Tausend junge Menschen aus ganz Europa auf Einladung des Europäischen Parlaments (EP) in Straßburg zusammen. Beim European Youth Event (EYE) denken sie nicht nur über ein besseres Europa nach, sondern feiern ebenso die Vielfältigkeit unseres Kontinents. Teil des umfangreichen EYE-Programms waren nun schon zum zweiten Mal 10 Ideenlabore – von planpolitik konzipiert und durchgeführt.

Basierend auf dem Konzept der Zukunftswerkstatt bestehen die Labore jeweils aus einer Kritik-, einer Utopie- und einer Realisierungsphase. Um allen EYE-Teilnehmenden eine Beteiligung an der Kritikphase zu ermöglichen, wird diese vor dem eigentlichen Event online durchgeführt. Auf unserer selbst entwickelten Online-Plattform können in englischer, deutscher und französischer Sprache Kritik gepostet und die Relevanz anderer Beiträge bewertet werden. Kleine Spiele laden dazu ein, sich mit kritischen Aspekten auseinanderzusetzen. Die eingegangenen Kritikpunkte werden in der Woche vor dem eigentlichen EYE nach der Häufigkeit ihrer Nennung geclustert und dienen als Ausgangspunkt für die zwei folgenden Phasen, die im EP in Straßburg abgehalten werden.

Und beim EYE heißt es dann ACTION: Innerhalb von zwei Tagen werden insgesamt 10 Ideenlabore von je 3 Stunden Dauer z mit bis zu 130 Teilnehmenden durchgeführt. Das Team von planpolitik ist dann von morgens bis abends im Dauereinsatz und kann dabei beobachten, welches Potential in den jungen Menschen steckt. Dabei gilt es für die Teilnehmenden zum Auftakt jedes Labors, von der gesammelten Kritik Abstand zu nehmen und positiv, optimistisch und utopisch zu denken. In Kleingruppen wird dann visioniert, diskutiert und die besten Ideen identifiziert. Zum Abschluss noch ein kleines Highlight: Über unsere selbst entwickelte ConferenceApp wählen die Teilnehmenden per Smartphone oder Tablet ihre persönlichen Favoriten aus. Die 10 Ideen mit den meisten Stimmen werden mit online zu bewerten und die TOP10 hochrangigen Expert/innen des EPs weiter entwickelt und diskutiert. Natürlich sollen auch die MEPs erfahren, was die junge Generation in Europa denkt und deswegen werden die Abgeordneten über die wertvollsten Beiträge nach Abschluss des EYE informiert.

Fakten

Zielgruppe

Teilnehmende des European Youth Event 2014 aus allen EU-Staaten

Zielsetzung
  • Entwicklung neuer Ideen
  • Austausch mit Menschen aus anderen europäischen Ländern
Auftraggeber/in

Europäisches Parlament

Projektauftrag/anforderungen

Entwicklung einer Online-Plattform für die Vorbereitungphase von 10 Ideenlaboren
Entwicklung, Vorbereitung und Durchführung von 10 Ideenlaboren auf dem European Youth Event
Zusammenfassung der Ergebnisse der 10 Ideenlabore

Projektlaufzeit

Februar 2014 bis Juni 2014; November 2015 bis Juni 2016

Dauer Veranstaltung

2 Tage

Anzahl der Teilnehmenden

750-1000

Ort

Straßburg

Sprache

Englisch, Deutsch, Französisch

Kompetenzen

In den Medien