Paper on online simulation games, published in an anthology on simulation games

Challenges and potential of online simulation games

Many experts believe that online and blended learning formats are the future of the education sector. We are actively contributing to this trend, e.g. by developing a platform for online simulation games. After 14 months of development and around 30 test runs, we contributed a paper on challenges and potential of online simulation games for the volume: “Handbook on Simulation Games in Political Education” (to be published at the end of 2015) in the autumn of 2014.

Critics often say that the simulation game as a method is stagnating in its development and that more development is desirable. Online simulation games constitute such a development: They fulfil young people’s growing demand for learning independently of time and place. However, it is clear that online learning cannot replace classic teaching methods at schools and universities. What is needed is the right mix: blended learning.

In our short contribution to the anthology “Handbook on Simulation Games in Political Education,” we address both the problems and the potential of online simulation games – needless to say, we see considerably more potential than problems. As is the case with all educational formats, online simulation games need to be tailored to the respective target group with regard to complexity, length and demands.

So far, our experience does not suffice to provide empirical proof of the effect of online simulation games, but the feedback from teachers and participants has been overwhelmingly positive – in all likelihood a good indication that we are not wrong to believe in the potential of online simulation games.

Facts + Figures

Target group

Scientific community

Objectives
  • Potential and challenges of online simulation games
Client(s)

Federal Agency for Political Education (bpb)

Language(s)

German

Competencies

Beitrag zum Thema Online-Planspiele für einen Planspiel-Sammelband

Herausforderungen und Potenzial von Online-Planspielen

  • © pixabay CC0 Public Domain

Online-Formaten und Blended-Learning-Angeboten gehört nach Ansicht vieler Expert/innen die Zukunft im Bildungsbereich. Diesen Trend gestalten wir aktiv mit, u.a. durch die Entwicklung einer Plattform für Online-Planspiele. Nach gut 14 Monaten Entwicklungsarbeit und knapp 30 Testläufen lieferten wir im Herbst 2014 einen Beitrag zu Herausforderungen und Potenzialen von Online-Planspielen für den Sammelband „Handbuch Planspiele in der politischen Bildung“ (VÖ 2015).

Immer wieder wird von Kritiker/innen beklagt, dass die Methode Planspiel in ihrer Entwicklung stagniere und Weiterentwicklungen mehr als wünschenswert seien. Online-Planspiele sind eine solche Weiterentwicklung, könnten sie doch das Bedürfnis junger Menschen nach orts- und zeitunabhängigem Lernen erfüllen. Es ist allerdings klar, dass Online-Angebote die klassische Lehre an Schulen und Universitäten nicht ersetzen werden. Es kommt also auf die richtige Mischung an – kurz: Blended-Learning-Angebote.

In unserem kurzen Beitrag für den Sammelband „Handbuch Planspiele in der politischen Bildungsarbeit“ gehen wir sowohl auf die Probleme als auch auf die besonderen Potenziale von Online-Planspielen ein, wobei wir selbstredend erheblich mehr Potential als Probleme sehen. Wie in allen Bildungsangeboten müssen auch Online-Planspiele in Komplexität, Länge und Anforderung auf die jeweilige Zielgruppe zugeschnitten werden.

Bisher reichen unsere Erfahrungen noch nicht aus, um empirische Beweise über den Effekt von Online-Planspielen vorzulegen, aber die Rückmeldungen von betreuenden Lehrkräften und auch Teilnehmenden der Testdurchläufe sind sehr positiv – ein Hinweis darauf, dass wir uns im Glauben an das Potenzial von Online-Planspielen nicht täuschen.

Fakten

Zielgruppe

Wissenschaftsgemeinde

Zielsetzung
  • Potential und Herausforderungen von Online-Planspielen analysieren
Auftraggeber/in

Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (bpb)

Sprache

Deutsch

Kompetenzen