Workshop of the Klaus Töpfer Fellowships at International Academy for Nature Conservation Vilm

Leadership training for nature conservation experts

What type of skills do I need when being responsible for a team or organisation? There is no one correct recipe for perfect leadership, just as there is no such thing as the perfect leader. Therefore we do not just provide participants with input but also ensure that they critically question their own behaviour. At the heart of this seminar are short exercises as well as role play and simulation games, during which the participants take turns in assuming leadership positions in different settings, ensuring that each participant experiences leadership from both the perspective of the leader and that of the regular work group members.

Following an introduction to different theoretical concepts on leadership (personal styles, behaviour, situation-specific courses of action), the participants test their leadership qualities during several short and longer exercises and reflect on the advantages and disadvantages of the different theoretical approaches and styles.

In the second part, we introduce a leadership concept that consists of several elements: successful leadership depends on fulfilling the key tasks of developing a vision for the organisation, recognising the need for change and implementing change. According to this concept, leadership tasks should be divided up among all team members.

The nature reserve area Vilm, a small island next to the island of Rügen in the Baltic Sea, provides a rather special setting and every year leads to a very intensive and productive working atmosphere for the 25 managers from Central and Eastern Europe as well as Central Asia.

Facts + Figures

Target group

Managers from Central and Eastern Europe as well as Central Asia

Objectives
  • What is leadership?
  • What is the difference between management and leadership?
  • What constitutes good leadership?
Client(s)

International Academy for Nature Conservation

Klaus-Töpfer-Fellowship

Duration

1 day

Number of participants

25

Location(s)

Vilm

Language(s)

English

Competencies

Workshop des Klaus-Töpfer Fellowships in der Internationale Naturschutzakademie Vilm

Leadership-Training für Naturschutzexperten

Welche Kompetenzen benötige ich, um Verantwortung für ein Team bzw. eine Organisation zu übernehmen? Das Rezept für perfektes Leadership gibt es dabei ebenso wenig wie die perfekte Führungsperson. Daher geben wir nicht nur Input, sondern bringen die Teilnehmenden auch dazu, ihr eigenes Verhalten kritisch zu hinterfragen. Im Mittelpunkt stehen kurze Übungen sowie Rollen- und Planspiele, in denen die Teilnehmenden in unterschiedlichen Settings abwechselnd Führungspositionen ein- und Verantwortung übernehmen bzw. Führungsverhalten aus der Perspektive der Mitarbeiter und Mitarbeiterinnen erleben.

Nach einer Einführung in verschiedene theoretische Konzepte zu Führung (Persönlichkeitsstile, Verhalten, situationsbedingtes Handeln), testen die Teilnehmenden in mehreren kürzeren und längeren Übungen ihre Führungsqualitäten und reflektieren über die Vorzüge und Nachteile der verschiedenen theoretischen Ansätze und Führungsstile.

Im zweiten Teil stellen wir ein aus mehreren Elementen bestehendes Führungskonzept vor, nach dem die zentralen Aufgaben von erfolgreicher Führung darin besteht, für die Organisationen Visionen zu entwickeln, die Notwendigkeit zum Wandel zu erkennen und die Umsetzung des Wandels in Gang zu setzen. Nach diesem Konzept sollten sich Leadership-Aufgaben übrigens auf alle Team-Mitglieder verteilen.

Das besondere Setting des Naturschutzgebietes auf der kleinen Insel Vilm vor Rügen führt jedes Jahr zu einer sehr intensiven und produktiven Arbeitsatmosphäre für die 25 Führungskräfte aus Mittel-und Osteuropa und Zentralasien.

Fakten

Zielgruppe

Führungskräfte aus Mittel- und Osteuropa und Zentralasien

Zielsetzung
  • Was ist Leadership?
  • Was ist Unterschied zwischen Management und Leadership?
  • Was zeichnet eine gute Führungskraft aus?
Auftraggeber/in

Internationale Naturschutzakademie

Klaus-Töpfer-Fellowship

Dauer Veranstaltung

1 Tag

Anzahl der Teilnehmenden

25

Ort

Insel Vilm

Sprache

Englisch

Kompetenzen