Negotiation module with online simulation game designed for an online Master at FU Berlin

Online, offline, theoretical and practical

Blended learning at its best! International negotiations are highly complex – with a huge array of different actors, positions, interests and power relationships. This extensive module combines theory and practice of international negotiations and enables students who are completing a Masters degree in International Relations while in employment to get an understanding of this complexity. An online simulation game is part of the module, as are two on-site phases featuring face-to-face exercises and discussions.

How do I negotiate well? Which actors and structures are relevant for the analysis of international negotiation processes? How could the classic theories on international relations contribute? How do I chair negotiations, and how do multilateral negotiations differ from bilateral negotiations?

Our module on theory and practice of international negotiations has been an integral part of the international Relations Online Masters programme at Freie Universität Berlin (FU). Participants from all over the world gain 8 ECTS credits in 12 extensive learning units as well as in two on-site phases that are dedicated to practical exercises.
For the last two academic years the online simulation game has been the highlight of the module: students take part in the so-called sherpa negotiations on our own online platform, i.e. they conduct negotiations in which large-scale international negotiations at an international UN climate summit are prepared (a first impression you may get visiting our demo version). The actual summit then takes place as a “regular” simulation game during the on-site phase of the module. But the computers remain switched on for this phase, with the online platform aiding the negotiations, be it for delegation-internal votes or for informal talks behind closed virtual doors.

Facts + Figures

Target group

International students of the Masters in International Relations Online at Freie Universität Berlin (FU)

Objectives
  • Theoretical basics on international relations
  • Training of negotiation skills
  • Understanding interrelations in international climate politics
Client(s)

Center for Global Politics, Freie Universität Berlin

Duration

3 months, with 2 days on-site in Berlin

Number of participants

35

Location(s)

Berlin and global

Language(s)

English

Competencies

Testimonials

  • The module on international negotiations within the International Relations Online Master Programme at Freie Universität Berlin successfully combines the most relevant theory of international negotiations with its practical application on a simulation game. This allows students to reflect on the theory while enhancing their negotiation skills on a very well structured and stimulating module. The excellent work done by Björn Warkalla and Simon Raiser reflects both their professional demeanour and masterful delivery of the material.

    Pedro Fernandez, Instructor at NATO School, Germany

  • I remember the module on negotiation as one of the most memorable and inspiring of my online studies at the Center for Global Politics at Freie Universität Berlin. While presenting students with current international cases of negotiation, our tutors always included the necessary academic background to help pull the pieces together. I can recommend planpolitik to anyone who would like a hands-on insight into international negotiation.

    Catrin Stibbe, German General Consulate, Toronto

  • Thank you both for an incredibly informative and useful module! I've learned an enormous amount about negotiations and have a wealth of material that will serve me well in writing my thesis next year. This module has given me a much deeper understanding of the negotiating process and another framework which to analyze ongoing international conflicts.

    Participant, Class of 2017

In the media

Verhandlungs-Modul mit Online-Planspiel in einem Online-Masterstudiengang der FU Berlin

Online, offline, theoretisch und praktisch

Blended-Learning at its best: Internationale Verhandlungen sind höchst komplex – mit vielen verschiedenen Akteuren, Positionen, Interessen und Machtverhältnissen. Das umfangreiche Modul verbindet Theorie und Praxis internationalen Verhandelns und ermöglicht Studierenden im berufsbegleitenden Master International Relations Online diese Komplexität zu verstehen. Zu dem Modul gehören zudem ein Online-Planspiel und zwei Präsenzphasen mit Face-to-Face-Übungen und Diskussionen.

Was ist gutes Verhandeln? Welche Akteure und Strukturen sind relevant für die Analyse internationaler Verhandlungsprozesse? Was können die klassischen Theorien internationaler Beziehungen beitragen? Wie werden Verhandlungen geleitet, und was unterscheidet multilaterale von bilateralen Verhandlungen?

Unser Modul zu Theorie und Praxis internationaler Verhandlungen ist seit Jahren fester Bestandteil des internationalen Online-Masterstudienganges International Relations Online der Freien Universität Berlin (FU). Ihre 8 ECTS-Punkte erwerben die Teilnehmenden aus aller Welt in 12 umfangreichen Online-Lerneinheiten sowie zwei Präsenzphasen, in denen praktische Übungen im Vordergrund stehen.

Seit den letzten beiden Studien-Jahrgängen ist ein Online-Planspiel das Highlight des Moduls: Auf unserer selbstentwickelten Online-Plattform nehmen sich die Studierenden virtuell der sogenannten Sherpa-Verhandlungen an, d.h. sie führen die Verhandlungen zur Vorbereitung einer großen internationalen Verhandlung, in diesem Fall für einen internationalen UN-Klimagipfel (einen Eindruck der Online-Plattform vermittelt Ihnen die Demo-Version). Der eigentliche Gipfel findet dann in der Präsenzphase des Moduls als „normales“ Planspiel statt. Die Computer bleiben dabei allerdings an, denn die Online-Plattform wird auch während des Gipfels zur Unterstützung der Verhandlungen weitergenutzt, sei es für interne Abstimmungen innerhalb der Delegation oder aber auch für informelle Gespräche hinter verschlossenen (virtuellen) Türen.

Fakten

Zielgruppe

Internationale MA-Studierende im Masterstudiengang International Relations Online der Freien Universität Berlin (FU)

Zielsetzung
  • Theoretische Grundlagen zu internationalen Verhandlungen
  • Verhandlungskompetenz trainieren
  • Zusammenhänge in der internationalen Klimapolitik verstehen
Auftraggeber/in

Center for Global Politics, Freie Universität Berlin

Dauer Veranstaltung

Insgesamt 3 Monate, 2 Tage Veranstaltung in Berlin

Anzahl der Teilnehmenden

35

Ort

Berlin und global

Sprache

Englisch

Kompetenzen

Stimmen

  • Das Modul zu Internationalen Verhandlungen im Rahmen des International Relations Online Master Programms an der Freien Universität Berlin ist sehr gut strukturiert und anregend. Es kombiniert die wichtigsten Theorien zu internationalen Verhandlungen mit deren praktischer Anwendung auf sehr überzeugende Art und Weise. Die Studierenden reflektieren über die wichtigsten Verhandlungstheorien und können gleichzeitig ihre Verhandlungstechniken aufbessern. Mit diesem Modul “Internationale Verhandlungen” haben Björn Warkalla und Simon Raiser exzellente Arbeit geleistet, nicht zuletzt auch hinsichtlich der souveränen und professionellen Präsentation des Materials.

    Pedro Fernandez (Dozent an der NATO Schule, Oberammergau)

  • Für mich war das Verhandlungsmodul eines der anregendsten Module während meines Online-Studiums am Center for Global Politics der FU Berlin. Ich kann die Arbeit von planpolitik all denjenigen wärmstens empfehlen, die einen sehr praxisbezogenen, und doch theoretisch fundierten Einblick in internationale Verhandlungen wünschen.

    Catrin Stibbe (Deutsches Generalkonsulat, Toronto)

  • Dank an euch beide für ein unglaublich informatives und nützliches Modul! Ich habe wahnsinnig viel über Verhandlungen gelernt und eine Menge an Material erhalten, das ich für meine Masterthesis im nächsten Jahr verwenden kann. Das Seminar hat mein Verständnis von Verhandlungen enorm geschärft und mir ein Rahmenkonzept vermittelt, wodurch ich aktuelle internationale Konflikt besser einordnen und analysieren kann.

    Teilnehmer/in, Jahrgang 2017

In den Medien