Simulation of the legislative process for the EU Commission

Simulation games at Europäisches Haus Berlin

A school trip to Berlin – for many young people, this does no longer just mean sightseeing, shopping and enjoying the famous nightlife of the German capital, but also taking part in a simulation game with planpolitik.

Our simulation games on the EU provide a deeper insight into the workings and functions of central EU institutions. By “becoming” commissioners, MEPs or ministers, the participants experience the political actors’ diverging interests that make reaching agreement so difficult.

The groups of pupils who took part were able to choose from a whole range of topics: development policy, Euro crisis, CO2 regulation, Europe 2020 strategy, European elections, consumer protection policy or Turkey’s accession? Three or seven hours? A simulation of the entire ordinary legislative procedure or just an extract? Less than 15 of more than 30 participants? The offer was flexible and didn’t just win over the teachers and participants.

EuropeDirect in Lüneburg as well as the European Information Centre (EIZ) in Hannover heard of our successful events in Berlin and have since sent our trainers on many trips to the schools of Lower Saxony – from Aurich to Osterode, from Fleestedt to Bramsche, we’ve seen it all.

Over the years, we have run about 250 simulation games in Berlin and across Lower Saxony. We gained a lot of experience and mastered many a challenge. And the series continues, at least in Lower Saxony. At the Representation of the European Commission, the simulation games were discontinued due to internal reasons. We are, of course, hoping for a return of this successful series at the Europäisches Haus.

 

Facts + Figures

Target group

Pupils of 15 or over

Objectives
  • Gain knowledge about EU institutions, the ordinary legislative procedure and current question of European politics
  • Train negotiation and argumentation skills
Client(s)

European Commission

Europäisches Informationszentrum (EIZ) Niedersachsen

EuropeDirect Lüneburg

Duration

3 or 7 h

Number of participants

15-35

Location(s)

Europäisches Haus Berlin, secondary schools in Niedersachsen

Language(s)

German

Competencies

Testimonials

  • The simulation games run by planpolitik at the European House in Berlin are successful and popular; over the last two years, around 2,000 pupils have taken part. Assuming the roles of EU commissioners, MEPs or Ministers they debate, forge coalitions, and find compromise They take politics into their own hands, so to speak. Thereby, European institutions come to life for them, and complex political areas such as climate protection, development cooperation or consumer politics cease to be abstract concepts. The simulation games are ideally suited to convey European politics in a sophisticated and entertaining way - and the feedback from teachers and pupils alike is extremely positive.

    Claudia Guske (German Office of the European Commission, Berlin)

  • planpolitik’s simulation games on Europe are the big hit at schools in Lower Saxony. And the cooperation will continue in 2011! Thank you for the professional, enriching and good collaboration!

    Michael Buckup and Romy Ilsemann (European Information Centre (EIZ), Lower Saxony)

Simulation des Gesetzgebungsverfahrens für die EU-Kommission höchstselbst

Planspiele im Europäischen Haus Berlin

  • © Beek100 - Eigenes Werk, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Auf Klassenfahrt in Berlin – für unzählige Schülerinnen und Schüler bedeutete das in den letzten Jahren nicht nur Sightseeing, Shopping und Party in der deutschen Hauptstadt sondern auch: ein EU-Planspiel mit planpolitik.

Unsere EU-Planspiele vermitteln einen vertieften Einblick in die Arbeitsweise und Funktionen zentraler EU-Institutionen. Die Teilnehmenden erleben als Kommissar/innen, Abgeordnete oder Minister/innen die divergierenden Interessen der politischen Akteure, die eine Einigung schwierig machen.

Die teilnehmenden Klassen konnten aus einer ganzen Reihe von Themen auswählen: Entwicklungspolitik, Eurokrise, CO2-Verordnung, Europa-2020-Strategie, Europawahl, Verbraucherschutzpolitik oder Türkeibeitritt? Drei oder sieben Stunden? Eine Simulation des gesamten Ordentlichen Gesetzgebungsverfahrens (OGV) oder nur ein Ausschnitt des OGV? Weniger als 15 oder mehr als 30 Teilnehmer/innen? Das Angebot war flexibel und hat nicht nur die Lehrkräfte und Teilnehmenden überzeugt.

Auch das EuropeDirect-Büro Lüneburg und das Europainformationszentrum (EIZ) in Hannover hörten von den erfolgreichen Veranstaltungen in Berlin und schicken unsere Trainer/innen seitdem auf viele Reisen an niedersächsische Schulen – von Aurich bis Osterode und von Fleestedt bis Bramsche haben wir alles gesehen.

Über die Jahre haben wir rund 250 Planspiele in Berlin und Niedersachsen durchgeführt, dabei viel erlebt und einige Herausforderungen gemeistert. Und die Reihe geht, zumindest in Niedersachsen, weiter. Bei der Vertretung der Europäischen Kommission wurden die Planspiele leider aus hausinternen Gründen Ende 2012 eingestellt. Natürlich hoffen wir nach wie vor auf eine Neuauflage dieses erfolgreichen Projekts im Europäischen Haus.

Fakten

Zielgruppe

Schülerinnen und Schüler ab Klasse 9

Zielsetzung
  • Wissen über EU-Institutionen, das ordentliche Gesetzgebungsverfahren und aktuellen Fragen der Europapolitik aneignen
  • Verhandlungsgeschick und Argumentation trainieren
Auftraggeber/in

Europäische Kommission

EIZ Niedersachsen

EuropeDirect Lüneburg

Dauer Veranstaltung

3 bzw. 7 h

Anzahl der Teilnehmenden

15-35

Ort

Europäisches Haus Berlin, weiterführende Schulen in Niedersachsen

Sprache

Deutsch

Kompetenzen

Stimmen

  • Die Planspiele, die planpolitik im Europäischen Haus in Berlin durchführt, sind erfolgreich und beliebt: in den letzten zwei Jahren haben ca. 2.000 Schüler/innen daran teilgenommen. Sie diskutieren, schmieden Koalitionen, finden Kompromisse und schlüpfen dabei in die Rollen von EU-Kommissaren, Abgeordneten des Europäischen Parlamentes oder Ministern. Die Jugendlichen nehmen dabei Politik selbst in die Hand. So werden die europäischen Institutionen für sie lebendig, und komplexe Politikfelder wie der Klimaschutz, die Entwicklungszusammenarbeit oder die Verbraucherpolitik werden konkret. Die Planspiele eignen sich bestens, um europäische Politik anspruchsvoll und abwechslungsreich zu vermitteln - und das Echo von Lehrern und Schülern ist äußerst positiv.

    Claudia Guske (Vertretung der Europäischen Kommission in Deutschland)

  • Europa-Planspiele von planpolitik: Der Hit in niedersächsischen Schulen geht 2011 in die Verlängerung! Danke für die professionelle, gute und bereichernde Zusammenarbeit!

    Michael Buckup und Romy Ilsemann (Europäisches Informations-Zentrum (EIZ) Niedersachen)