The module “Negotiation and Conflict Resolution” at the American University of Paris

Negotiations under the Eiffel Tower

Hardly any other event has a longer tradition for planpolitik than the annual seminar for various Masters programmes at the American University of Paris (AUP): a three-day introduction to international negotiations and conflict management for students from all over the world. We often notice that the discussions here are a lot more lively than those at many events in Germany.

We have been teaching this module at AUP since 2007 – and for the duration of the seminar we can even call ourselves “Professeur” according to our visitor’s passes. Thanks to the consistently positive feedback from the students we were able to teach the module in Paris for the eighth time in 2014 – that means a total of around 250 students have taken part in our seminars.

The structure of the seminar has changed over the years, but the main building blocks remain the same: during preparation, students work with an online introduction reader and take a test. On the basis of this knowledge we spend our first day in Paris conducting a negotiation training with a focus on multilateral negotiations. On day two, the focus is on negotiations in crisis situations (as simulated in our game “Panic on board”). On the final day, we concentrate on questions of conflict management and possible preventive measures (as exemplified in our fictitious simulation games on Rosania). At the end, the students write a reflective essay.

The discussions with and among participants are lively and often controversial but always constructive – the interest in genuinely gaining knowledge is palpable.

Aside from the unusually active participation from the students, the framework programme in beautiful Paris increases this module’s appeal for us.

Facts + Figures

Target group

Masters students in Conflict Management at AUP and Sorbonne University Paris

Objectives
  • Particularities of international negotiations
  • Conflict management
  • Negotiating under stress
Client(s)

American University of Paris

Duration

5 days

Number of participants

30

Location(s)

Paris/Frankreich

Language(s)

English

Competencies

Testimonials

  • The American University of Paris graduate program in International Affairs has worked closely with Planpolitik on an annual basis since 2006, articulating a superb three-day module on negotiation simulation that is highly appreciated by our students. Planpolitik's Simon Raiser and Bjorn Warkalla challenge our students with their expertise, encouraging them to develop new and creative paradigms for conflict resolution.

    Susan Perry, Program Director MA in International Affairs, Associate Professor at American University of Paris

  • The training workshop by planpolitik has shown to me that simulation games are an innovative pedagogical tool, which I hope to use someday as a teacher of conflict resolution & civil society.

    Clara Rachel Casséus-Eybalin, Consultant, Paris

Das Modul Negotiation und Conflict Resolution an der American University of Paris

Verhandeln unter dem Eiffelturm

Kaum eine Veranstaltung hat für planpolitik eine so lange Tradition wie das jährlich stattfindende Seminar für verschiedene Masterprogramme an der American University of Paris (AUP) – eine dreitägige Einführung in internationale Verhandlungen und Konfliktmanagement für Studierende aus aller Welt, wobei die Diskussionen im Vergleich zu Seminaren in Deutschland häufig viel lebendiger sind.

Schon seit 2007 unterrichten wir dieses Modul an der AUP und dürfen uns für die Dauer des Seminars laut Ausweiskarte der Universität sogar „Professeur“ nennen! Der stets guten Beurteilung durch die Studierenden haben wir es zu verdanken, dass wir im Jahr 2014 nun schon zum insgesamt 8. Mal in Paris unterrichtet haben – insgesamt also knapp 250 Studierende an unseren Veranstaltungen teilgenommen haben.

Der Ablauf hat sich mit den Jahren zwar immer wieder verändert, die wichtigsten Bausteine sind jedoch geblieben: Zur Vorbereitung bearbeiten die Studierenden zuerst online einen Einführungsreader zu internationalen Verhandlungen und einen abschließenden Test. Auf Basis dieses Wissens führen wir am ersten Tag des Seminars in Paris ein Verhandlungstraining mit Fokus auf multilateralen Verhandlungen durch. Am zweiten Tag stehen Verhandlungen in Krisensituationen im Mittelpunkt (siehe Referenz Flugzeugentführung). Der Schwerpunkt des letzten Tages liegt auf Fragen der Konfliktbearbeitung und möglichen Präventionsmaßnahmen (siehe Referenz sdw, Marburg, AA). Abschließend verfassen die Studierenden ein Reflexionsessay.

Die Diskussionen mit und zwischen den Teilnehmenden sind lebendig und häufig kontrovers, aber immer konstruktiv – man spürt das Interesse an genuinem Erkenntnisgewinn. Neben der überdurchschnittlich aktiven Teilnahme der Studierenden an dem Seminar erhöht das Rahmenprogramm in Paris für uns ganz persönlich die Attraktivität dieses Moduls.

Fakten

Zielgruppe

Studierende im Masterstudiengang Conflict Management an der American University of Paris und der Sorbonne Universität Paris

Zielsetzung
  • Besonderheiten Internationaler Verhandlungen
  • Konfliktmanagement
  • Verhandeln unter Stress
Auftraggeber/in

American University of Paris

Dauer Veranstaltung

3 Tage

Anzahl der Teilnehmenden

30

Ort

Paris/Frankreich

Sprache

Englisch

Kompetenzen

Stimmen

  • Das Graduiertenprogramm International Affairs der American University of Paris arbeitet bereits seit 2006 jährlich mit planpolitik eng zusammen. Dabei führt planpolitik ein herausragendes dreitägiges Modul zu Verhandlungssimulationen durch, das von den Studierenden sehr geschätzt wird. Simon Raiser und Björn Warkalla von planpolitik fordern unsere Studierenden mit ihrer Expertise heraus und ermutigen sie, neue und kreative Ideen für die Konfliktlösung zu entwickeln.

    Susan Perry, Programmleiterin Master International Affairs, Außerordentliche Professorin an der American University of Paris

  • Das Fortbildungsseminar von planpolitik hat verdeutlicht, dass Planspiele eine innovative Lernmethode sind. Wenn ich eines Tages Dozentin für Konfliktmanagement und Zivilgesellschaft bin, werde ich diese Methode auch anwenden.

    Clara Rachel Casséus-Eybalin, Consultant, Paris